My biggest painting FINISHED! - process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys, I am really happy to finally say I finished my biggest painting today! It was a huge challenge for me and I got a new experience. I worked 32 hours on it and realised the differences between painting on smaller canvas.

20180523_194025.jpg

The process

I started with sketching. I hat to draw a net to make it easier. Some parts of the picture are measuerd because I wanted it to be as precise as possible. I sticked a brush at the end of my pencil to make it longer. It is important to see the sketch from a distance.

2018-05-23 (15).png

When I was sure the sketch is good I painted the background. I used really dark blue, because pure black would be a little boring. The most problematic thing was to make the floor look fuzzy, because acrylic paint dries quite fast, so smooth transitions take some time and they ahve to be done step by step.

2018-05-23 (16).png

The floor has wood structure. After finishing it I continued with painting of legs. I am not sure why I chose to paint the body first, I usualy start with the head. This time it was a good choice, because it took time to learn how to paint the fur best.

2018-05-23 (11).png

The whole work on the dog is based on layers. The first one is just the basic color and it whows shades and bright parts. the second layer is the structure of fur with the color difference. And the last layer are highlights and final enhancements.

2018-05-23 (17).png

While painting I had to sit on the floor and also stand to paint the head, so my back hurt a lot.

2018-05-23 (18).png

I used two kinds of brushes on fur. First I tried flat brush and the furt was shaggy. Then I tried thin round brush on a chest. It was better, so I repaint the legs a little to match the rest.

The last part was the head. It took 8 hours. The fur is finer and there are details which required more attention. I enjoyed painting eyes as always while painting animals.

2018-05-23 (19).png
2018-05-23.png

So, after 32 hours of work it is done :)

2018-05-23 (21).png

 

Thanks for watching!

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

#thealliance

Sort:  

that contrast o.O

32 hours damn! i know you mentioned in a previous post that this was a comission and you wouldnt have chosen to do it on your own... you better watch out because after this post everyone is going to want their own 32 hour comission of their pets from you!

I hope you were paid HANSOMELY for this, beautiful work @marty-arts!

thank you @dayleeo, I hope they will give me some break, because I am exhausted :D I wouldnt believe larger paintings take so much energy...

im sure! it must be such an exercise for your brain to think on such a huge scale, but also have to switch into tiny tiny detail mode with each individual bit of fur- that would wipe anyone out!

This is amazing! Drawing or painting fur and making it look realistic is super hard to do and you did it fabulously! It looks like a photograph! Great job!

thanks so much! :)

Wow wow wow😍 beyond realistic! Amazed😃

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

Hello guys, I am really happy to finaly say I finished my biggest painting today!
It should be finally instead of finaly.

My Cat :)
655.jpg

😮 I am in awe of this, holy wow.

The final result is amazing and it has an almost trompe l'oeil effect where the front paws in front of the white line makes it feel as if his darling paws are there to touch. Amazing work on the fur and the wood floor.

I LOVE animal art and particularly dogs so this is even more enticing to me. Well done and an amazing size as well!

I tape pencil to wooden dowels too if drawing a large canvas! It is a good technique as sometimes it is easier to get the perspective when you are a bit removed from the canvas. I can't wait to get back to large canvas this Summer!

OMG! it's impressive, great job! Would be lovely to have you around in Slothicorn, our curators would love to give an upvote to that lovely dog! :)

I would appreciate that :)

That is impressive!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44