🔹 MY ART - Making of a book cover

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, yesterday we have finally recieved an order of 300 books my mother wrote. I would like to share with you a process of making a cover for this book.
The book is called "Over the clouds of mind" and it is a collection of stories from life. It is about things we do not usually realize. How strongly we are influenced by parents, our childhood, experiences, and with things that are repeated in our families for generations. The book shows many different situations with different problems and trying to find the solutions. It may help people to look from different angles and think twice before judging others, because all of us have something to deal with.

20181211_172217.jpg

I wanted the cover to have a smooth textbook feeling, but still original, nice and imaginative. I was searching for some inspiration on Pinterest. I really liked one picture of a girl with strings and planets on it. I wanted to do something simmilar, so I took a photo and drew according to it. The title and the meaning of the book reminds me of something like a game we play for a whole life. We are trying to have the best life we can, achieve everything we want, live amazing love stories, build business and so on. Sometimes it seems like we want to move the whole universe to get what we want, pull every possible thread. but it does not work always the way we planned.

2018-12-12 (1).png

I was not sure of the colors first. I was just thinking of blue or violet. I finished the drawing with watercolors.

20181212_101358.jpg

I redrew the picture in Photoshop and started to put everything together.

2018-12-12 (2).png

It seemed to me nice to make something like a collage out of it, bring some textures and make cuttings. I was trying different color combinations and textures.

OBALKY.png

Finding the right colors was the main problem. We did not want it to be too cold, so I had to combine at least two different colors, even though I liked blue versions.

OBALKA-NAVRH-SDF.png

We agreed on violet. There was a picture I used in one of the previous designs combining violet and orange, so I tried to use it.

OBALKA-NAVRH-OBLAKY.png

OBALKA-NAVRH-NOVE.png

Finally I added a suitable font and the cover was finished.

20181212_104206.jpg

 

Thanks for watching!

 
 

Follow me on Steemit

Facebook Instagram Youtube

Sort:  

That purple came out very well...

Thank you marty-arts! You've just received an upvote of 80% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65