Interactive paintings: The Vagabonds #1

in #art7 years ago

Introducing The Vagabonds:

From Merriam-Webster:
Vagabond:

a person who moves from place to place without a fixed home

And, also fitting: from synonym.com: (Adj.)

continually changing especially as from one abode or occupation to another

I've painted a small series of these little paintings, and I've always been eager to do something with them, something quirky and funny, something mysterious and, well, vagabond, so I may have come up with a little interactive game here.

This is Vagabond #1, an original painting, an original character, painted in oils on canvas, 13x18cm:

Now for the fun, interactive part!
Make a comment on this post, where you start with which name you would give to this vagabond. Then randomly pick three numbers between 1 and 13: I have made a list with 13 adjectives, 13 occupations and 13 origins, so your random choice will make this character really unique. Finally, you can give me a family or relative-link, which will be the link from this character to the next Vagabond.

Confusing? I bet, so here's an example.

Write in a comment:
a first Name, 3 numbers between 1 and 13, and a relationship,
that could be written like:
Vernon, 12 - 4 - 8, Grandfather; or
Julius, 7-7-7, Mentor

I will then reply on your comment with the numbers filled in, according to my list:
Vernon, the Dedicated Smuggler from The Abandoned Monastary, Grandfather of...
Julius, the Courteous Poet from Alexandretta, Mentor of ...

where "..." will be the next Vagabond. I will somehow try to maintain a family-tree, that could be fun!

So, how will you name this character? And which numbers will you randomly choose? And what will be this character's acquaintance to the next one? I'm eager to see!

Is it a contest? Yes and no, let's have fun in the first place, and see what the funniest, extravagant, bold and vagabondish result is, I may have some SBD to spare!

Sort:  

Cyrus, 6, 9, 13, uncle.

Love the painting, by the way. He looks grizzled.

Cyrus, the Lively Freedomfighter from A Long Time Ago, in A Galaxy Far, Far Away..! The Uncle of (..to be announced..)

Salt - 2 - 4 - 6, child

I hope I've done it right :)

Salt, the Cheerful Globetrotter from The Black Lagoon!
The Child of ..to be announced..

Absolutely right, btw!

Ha fun! Let's see...
Michna, 8, 13, 2, Guardian

Hey! Glad to see you kicking this off! :)

This is Michna, the Philosopher from The Dead Man's Forrest, Guardian of... (to be announced!)

Ooooh that sounds very mysterious!

Forgot to add the 'naughty' in there -- makes it even better and more mysterious :)

Looks like I skipped one there, my bad! First time doing this; it should be:

Michna, the Naughty Philosopher from the Dead Man's Forrest, Guardian of...

Marty, this is really awesome. Going through your past work now awesome stuff!

Thanks @solar, much appreciated!


This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team! If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Muxxybot is a Curation account that features chosen posts, selected and voted on by the Curation team. If featured, your post will be shared on Muxxybot's post, which will be resteemed by @gmuxx. The author will then get added to Muxxybot's voting list for automatic votes on all future posts.

I love the art, and interesting idea for an interactive post. So here goes:
Dudd - 13, 6, 9 - Watcher

Thank you :)

This is Dudd, the Calm Antiquarian from Outer Space, Watcher of... (to be announced!)

Hehe, nice! Do I watch your posts for updates or will the "to be announced" happen here in the comments?

I'll announce it here, but I'll make a seperate post as well, with the next painting/interactive Vagabond. To be continued! :)

Very cool, I'm curious to see where this leads to :)

Magnus, 9 7 8, Adopted brother

Meet Magnus, the Reckless Detective from Nova Zembla, he's the Adopted Brother of ... (to be announced!)

Thanks for joining in @bzaryp!

I received 5 entries for this first Vagabonds-series, so I let a dice decide which entry would be the complete and official continuation for these weirdo's; the dice decided on entry #4, which was @deemarshall's

So, this character:

_1.jpg

is now officially "Salt, the Cheerful Globetrotter from The Black Lagoon, the Child of":

_2.jpg

This will be Vagabond #2, whose post I will put up soon. Thank you @deemarshall, @lenadr, @winstonalden, @edward.maesen and @bzaryp for commenting and making wonderful and weird combinations! More to come!

Fine art that is
i am appreciated for this
rally that is good work
carry on

Cutoff!

I will absolutely enjoy any comments you have on this little painting or on this post, but I cannot consider your entry for the contest anymore - and I won't give away any adjectives, occupations or origins, even if you provide me numbers between 1 and 13. I know 24 hours is a short period, but that's the way this post goes! (Also: not every post about these vagabonds will be cut-off at 24 hours, so be sure to follow up!)

Thank you to all commenters/entrants for replying so quickly, much appreciated!

Feedback on this is of course very much appreciated, so feel free to comment on how you'd like to see this going!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62390.04
ETH 2455.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66