Interactive painting contest #2: And Then There Were Two of Us

in #art7 years ago

Last week I posted an original painting, looking for some interaction from all you Steemians, and I got more than I bargained for!

A quick recap, this was the painting titled "Mystery Man":

I asked input on when it was; where Mystery Man came from; how he felt; what was in his suitcase; and who he met.

I received four unique entries, by @lenadr, @abderrahimlafifi, @mrfrost and @fraenk, so the SBD I gained from that post will be distributed among you four. Thanks! They were all awesome and unique little stories about "Mystery Man" and you can read all of them in the comments right here.

I decided to award the prize for the most unique story to @fraenk, as it was a really mind-boggling and weird interpretation of "Mystery Man". Here it is:

It was the time before the legends. The Mystery Man had just arrived from the dimensional manifold. He felt nauseated and confused. Firmly holding his little suitcase, containing everything he thought he was missing before, he approached himself.
His job was done. Or was it?
No, it wasn't! This was only the beginning... again!

Half of the SBD will go to @fraenk, the other half will be split between @lenadr, @abderrahimlafifi and @mrfrost. As this was the first of probably an ongoing series of interactive painting contests, I'm throwing in an additional SBD to be divided among you four!

So, now that Mystery Man has met himself - again, the story continues.

This is this week's painting to be interpreted, make a comment with the blanks filled in to enter the contest:

Now that Mystery Man had met himself (again), they both found themselves lost in ____ (where (or when?) are they lost?)

"Do you see anything on your side?" Mystery Man 1 asked Mystery Man 2, "I'm seeing ____." (what does he see?)

Mystery Man 2 peered into the darkness and suddenly whispered: "Quiet. I see her, there she is: ____" (who is there?)

But Mystery Man 1 couldn't hear him anymore, he was off on his own into his corridor. The last thing Mystery Man 2 saw was ____

Then all became black...

(to be continued... by you!)


Thanks for reading and commenting, upvoting will make the prize-pool bigger, so thank you for that, too! Feel free to resteem so more people can participate, let's make this a fun contest!

Sort:  

Now that Mystery Man had met himself (again), they both found themselves lost in time.

"Do you see anything on your side?" Mystery Man 1 asked Mystery Man 2, "I'm seeing a floating shape in the distance."

Mystery Man 2 peered into the darkness and suddenly whispered: "Quiet. I see her, there she is: Matriarch Eliane."

But Mystery Man 1 couldn't hear him anymore, he was off on his own into his corridor. The last thing Mystery Man 2 saw was a vision of his 2 children. One a boy, one a girl, drawing something in what seemed to be snow. It wasn't a mathematical formula but it did look like it. It was something unlike anything he had ever seen.

Then all became black...

I really like the idea with the vision of his own offspring revealing some sort of cryptic secret... wonder where that could lead!

Awesome, weird and mysterious, just how I like it! Thanks, and... to be continued!

Ok... I am not exactly struck by inspiration, but I am not letting this great post go get buried in tumbleweed...

Let's continue where I left off:


It was the time before the legends. The Mystery Man had just arrived from the dimensional manifold. He felt nauseated and confused. Firmly holding his little suitcase, containing everything he thought he was missing before, he approached himself.
His job was done. Or was it?
No, it wasn't! This was only the beginning... again!

Now that Mystery Man had met himself (again), they both found themselves lost in the event horizon of the paradox that had become their existence.

"Do you see anything on your side?" Mystery Man 1 asked Mystery Man 2, "I'm seeing everything different but nothing changed at all."

Mystery Man 2 peered into the darkness and suddenly whispered: "Quiet. I see her, there she is: Mahakali, the goddess of time and death. I have to go and deliver the..."

But Mystery Man 1 couldn't hear him anymore, he was off on his own into his corridor. The last thing Mystery Man 2 saw was the corridor closing.

Then all became black...

Woah, excellent continuation, weird and completely FUBAR!
Leaving open endings, perfect "I have to go and deliver the..." what!? Excellent!

Must continue! Thanks :)

thanks man, glad you liked it!

can I ask: when you write the blank-text initially, you sure must have some ideas of your own in mind to connect the snippets logically, or not?

I would be really curious how you would have filled the blanks yourself or what your initial vision was. Of course I wouldn't want to know before the user submissions were made... but it would be interesting afterwards...

Haha, cool, I sure did have a version of my own, but I didn't write it down, this is what it was more or less:

Now that Mystery Man had met himself (again), they both found themselves lost in a dream, and stuck inside an immense labyrinth.
"Do you see anything on your side?" Mystery Man 1 asked Mystery Man 2, "I'm seeing wonderful things, as if this place itself is alive."
Mystery Man 2 peered into the darkness and suddenly whispered: "Quiet. I see her, there she is: The Medusa."
But Mystery Man 1 couldn't hear him anymore, he was off on his own into his corridor. The last thing Mystery Man 2 saw was a pack of wriggling snakes in the darkness. He heard his name called in an unearthly hissss...
Then all became black.

hehe... awesome... thanks for the exclusive reveal! I like the "stuck in a dream" aspect, too!

Thanks! I admit, for the first episode - Mystery Man - I had no story of my own, just questions. It seems to work better when I have a little something of myself planned out. Will do, episode #3 coming up later!

ah... perfect! I was really hoping for a mashup ;)

I tried it with the first episode, but it didn't feel coherent, so there it is now!

Now I hope Inspiration strikes again, I'll keep this tab open ;)

prize money went back into this round via @minnowbooster ;)

Nice! Congratulations @fraenk!

Haha, awesome! You set the mood with the dimensional weirdness, so I'm curious to see what's next :)

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50