Fat Birds don't Fly - Original Painting

in #art7 years ago

I've been posting some dark and macabre paintings lateley (because of my collaboration with @richq11's "The Night Gods" - read more here if you're interested in a dark horror/thriller as it is being written on steemit - as well as in the process of being published in a book.

But it's not all doom and gloom I paint - yes, I'm fascinated by the mysterious, the weird, the enchanting, but every now and then I paint something joyfully mysterious, I put a quirky weird thing on the canvas, or I imagine something uplifting enchanting.

So I want to present an (older) painting, to break the row of the dark and sinister - that world does fascinate me, but I no way am I the reclusive, people-shy, misunderstood painter. I'm actually a very happy guy who's fascinated by the mystery.

Fat Birds Don't Fly (yes, I was listening to the Fun Lovin' Criminals), 70x70cm (28x28"), acrylics on paper, not available by the way.

I wrote a story about this quirky figure - if I get enough (actual, not spammy!) comments, I'll consider translating it into English and publish as a new post.

Thanks for commenting, or leaving a reply with what your thoughts are on this little weirdo!

Sort:  

Intersting idea, nice painting!

Thanks man!

I really love your art marty! I have been doing my weekly curation and I'd like to feature you in it this week, is it okay if I use one of your images?

Thank you @juliakponsford! It would be awesome to be featured, thank you very much :)

It reminds me of the work of Henry Moore, the sculptor. It's interesting to see another side of your art.
I don't think she is fat. I think she has a bun in her oven. I hope the baby doesn't inherit her neck.

Thank you Dee :) It's not often a painting reminds of sculpture - I know Henry Moore's work, so maybe some influences got through subconsciously.

And no, she isn't fat, so she can fly :) A bun in the oven - didn't see that one till now, good one, thanks!

Beautiful work @marty-art, it reminds me of something but i can't put my mind on it.

Thanks Mikko, that's actually a great compliment! May you ponder about it for days :)

I love your dark paintings and your collaboration with @richq11 is simply fantastic, but I admit that this quirky figure is really interesting for me! I hope you 'll translate the story into English and you'll post it here ^_^

Thank you @silviabeneforti! I can't back off now, I'll translate and post (but not tonight - it's getting a bit late for that) :)
Thanks again!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @marty-art to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45