Entry for molaaspaingaroo contest day 2: "Diary of a Soldier"

in #art7 years ago (edited)

My entry for @spaingaroo's daily contest, in which he provides one of his artworks from his (awesome!) sketchbooks and asks to make a creative interpretation of it.

You can find the original sketchbook-entry #2 by @spaingaroo right here.

Read the rules and regulations of his daily contest right here.

And this is what I did with it, let's title it "Diary of a Soldier"

My workflow: I used a photo of one of my paintings of World War I soldiers.

(In this case the painting of Emile Brichard - if you want to now more about this historical figure "Emile Brichard", then drop a comment "Emile!" and I'll tell you a little known story about him, ok?)

Multiplied the layer of the painting with the sketchbook of @spaingaroo in photoshop (to get a more authentic feeling)

For the text I scanned a postcard I have in my archive, sent from one of my great-grandfathers to another one of my great-grandfathers (when their respective son and daughter - that would be my grandfather and grandmother - were engaged). I darkened the layer in photoshop to blend it with the moleskine and toned it down just to reduce the readabilty slightly.

Alltogether, I think it makes for an authentic diary of a soldier, writing down his journey during World War I, having his portrait in there, for the future generations to read and see.

What do you think?

Sort:  

Yes, he'd be pleased with that :) I hope you win!

I am amazed with the emile brichard
His writing makes us look beyond the past.
Thanks for those of you who have posted this post.
@marty-art

Thank you @blackcoffee. Yes, I find it amazing to be able to look at photo's from more than a century ago, and to be able to read postcards my great-grand-families sent to each other. Time's awesome and weird, isn't it?

muy buen post, upvote para ti.
sigueme y chequea mi trabajo @hcastillog1

Gracias! I understand a bit of Spanish, so I will check your blog, de nada :)

Interesting!

Thank you, much appreciated!

oh, and if you haven't realised, you have put the same link in both places. Both the day link and the conditions link point to the same place

not a big problem as there is a link in the post too

Link should be sorted, that was weird - took me awhile to get it right :-/

hey, I am so thrilled marty-art that you choose to participate, and I am pretty sure we have a clear winner here.

(no-one else participated yet.) (and is last day for day two too.)

as well as the fact that I love it.

Thank you for doing the challenge and thank you for actually putting some effort into it too..

It shows and reflects well on you of course. I hope your post goes off.

I loved your description of process too, and I am sure many others will too.
You have my still minnow vote and a resteem from me.

If I could work out how, I'd give you a whale -vote too.

Still, all things come to those who wait.

hope you will consider repeating.

good on you and big hugs

Hey, glad to participate :) I haven't seen many sketchbooks on Steemit - yet. So I think it's awesome you want to share.. I think my sketchbooks are almost my most private property, so it's really difficult to do so :)

I felt like describing the process as there wasn't much actual art (painting, drawing, ..) involved - I took your photo and layered some of my photo's in. But I still consider it a mutual effort. And I really want to do more of these (but.. like I said, finding the time, of course :)

Very much enjoying, thank you!

yes, I struggled with it at first, as some of my finest ideas are in these things, and many of them haven't been worked through.
But in the end, nothing really matters.
I would hate to die before having some influence out there.
If that comes 'cause someone gets an idea from one of my sketch books, well that sounds pretty good to me.

(but I did start with a book at least six years old already. I couldn't let my current one out yet)

lol
thanks

oh, and one more thing

"Emile!"

Awesome, one vote for Emile! I will write his story when I find a bit of time.

It's uncanny how he jumped to my eye to be blended into your moleskine as well... I had a couple of ideas, but this was the painting that ultimately worked best after all..

Interesting, thanks for share

Glad to share my art and interpretations - yeah, I put in a couple of hours of work :). Interesting comment, thanks for share too!

Congratulations @marty-art! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44