You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoins, Koons, Warhol, Mugrabi and the Art Market

in #art7 years ago

I get what you are saying here as I experience a gamut of emotions when people see the prices on my handwovens. Some are joyous to hand over their money. Others seem to be calculating how many they could get at Walmart for the price of one of mine.

But I would rather talk about Bogomil's Flight.
The color in the foreground of your art work is a predominant color used in the traditional dress of the Bosnian men as a cummerbund and often woven on a back strap loom which is a stick with say 200 warp threads tied up singly. The warp threads on the other end (warp about the length of an average man's height), is the strings gathered together and knotted over another stick.

The last stick is then tied around a tree and the first stick is tied around the weaver's waist as he/she sits or kneels on the ground. You just keep rolling up the fabric on the first stick as you carefully make woven fabric. It is actually a good way to teach children how to weave, course it can't hope to compete with any of their electronic hypnotizers.
Anyway, it is a color Bogomil would have recognized. Did you know that?

Sort:  

fascinating! I always enjoy others discovering things in my work that I had never thought of!
I had this artwork up in another post some time ago:
https://steemit.com/art/@thermoplastic/artwork-by-otto-rapp-slide-show
About the first part of your comment: yes, I am quite aware of that. People just don't appreciate the skills of handcraft anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32