From Zero to Hero vol. 2 – Abstract οffice art by @mariandavp

in #art8 years ago

In my last post on abstract office art, I showed you how to create an abstract masterpiece with just a blue pen and a couple of stabilos, starting from chaotic lines and ending with specific shape forms. Today we will go on step further, and though we will use the same blue pen and stabiles, we will do exactly the opposite; we will start from specific forms to end up to more abstract end result.

REMEMBER: You don’t have to be skilled to do this. You only need to become a child and let your creativity rule. In fact the less skilled you are the more artistic the result.

READY? SET? GO!!!!

Let’s start with all time classic and kid’s favorite; a portrait of a girl. I’m always a fan of ¾ head stance, so I’ll make a rough outline of the head. It doesn’t have to be perfect or proportional. I have in my mind a nice pony tail, so I draw an ALIEN head.

I draw the face features outlines and basic details. Then I shape the areas where I’d place the face’s shadows if this was a normal portrait (assuming that light comes from where we stand). Now smudge those areas as well as the head. Remember how I told you to go crazy last time? Well, this time don’t. We don’t want to go too much out of the outlines, but just to hide them a little bit. Of course if you do overdo it at some point, it doesn’t matter. Art becomes better with imperfections!

Start filling the shapes with your darker stabilo and the blue pen. The more dense the more vivid the shadow effect. We usually have dark circles around the eyes, a slight shadow mustache, shadows around the cheekbones and our chin and of course more shadows on the part of the shape that is further away from the light (remember it’s a ¾ portrait). With chaotic lines I create her long low ponytail as well. Here I avoid making an outline with dark pen.

OOPS, I always forget the eyes!

OK. Let’s put do some coloring and beautification were needed. AND a scarf because she’s a fashion icon J

You may think, she still looks like an alien. But I want you to imagine her coming out of her trendy UFO and walking on earth for the first time. Hmmmmm, what A NICE BREEZE on her face. Look at her hair waving. Lets draw some hair like that…

And some fancy abstraction in the sky

Done?

Oh no, I forgot to make it Steemit Exclusive… NOW, IT’S DONE 😆

Try it at the office or at home with your kids. You will realize what a great artist you can become in no time!

Sort:  

"You only need to become a child and let your creativity rule. In fact the less skilled you are the more artistic the result." - Yes yes yes! I love this, and agree - I used to feel paralyzed trying to draw something because I didn't think I was skilled enough. It wasn't until I just started doodling around without "trying" to make something that my creativity flowed. This is an awesome piece, very organic :-)
I'm not sure if you already sell your artwork, but you might be interested in selling it on Peerhub.com (you can read more about it here). It is a marketplace that is focused around Steem dollars and the Steemit community. We're holding a raffle this week with a pool of 150 SD if you post an item on the site. I will also be making a weekly post highlighting newly listed items in the marketplace that could potentially help your art reach a wider audience :-)

@anwenbaumeister thanks so much for your comment and the tip about Peerhub. I will definately check it out and keep you posted! Thank you for your support too most appreciated 😊

That job will be the end of us...

Why do you say that??? 😊😙😙

I don't get to see you posting your paintings instead you are working 18 hours per day!!

Haha with $ 0,58 steemit payout I don't think I have many options!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25