Fires in her eyes - original artwork by @mariandavp

in #art8 years ago

This painting is my personal favorite. And my lucky charm. One of those things that may not be perfect but for some reason you hold closer to your heart than anything else.

Although she looks like a pretty simple and straightforward portrait, her creation took longer than a month working on her systematically every night.

The challenge was to combine my personal facial features at late childhood / early adolesence with native african characteristics. Then through her eyes and mouth expression to make her look older than her age - in her eyes you can see the reflection of fires.

The inspiration for this painting came during the Embola breakout. The painting however became tha cover of a greek newspaper (Athens Voice) during their campaing called INVISIBLE PEOPLE in favor of 200,000 children and young adults that were born or grew up in Greece but were not entitled to Greek nationality.

Fortunately the law changed shortly after, confirming my prejudice that my little daughter is indeed a lucky charm!

In the photo below my baby, me and the exhibition curator.

The cover

http://www.athensvoice.gr/covers/marianta-papaioannoy

Sort:  

Hello @mariandavp,

Your post has been chosen by the @robinhoodwhale initiative as one of our top picks today.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

The Steemit community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep on Steeming!

Goodluck!
~RHW~

I lost it, but I saw it at leat now, I ve seen this from your work. kalimera , paw na piasw ta pinela mou If you post something please let me now from the start!

Kalimera dear! No worries! Ευχαριστω 😘

She is beautiful, got a look of determination and strength to her

Thank you! This was the end result I wanted to achieve, with some optimism as well despite the adversities she might be facing.

A good combination of background and object. It creates a sense of peace. Good portrait!

Thank you 😊!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95