DrawDiction #21 | Beelzebub

in #art7 years ago

Beelzebub, n. a form of Baal worshipped by the Philistines at Ekron, the Prince of evil spirits.

I have to profess ignorance - I thought Beelzebub was a term invented by Queen. I only heard it in Bohemian Rhapsody and never really paid attention to the lyrics. Heck, I only knew Freddie Mercury was saying 'Beelzebub has a devil put aside for me' once I googled the lyrics.

And so, naturally, when I read the definition of Beelzebub in the dictionary, I was stumped. What was Baal? Who were the Philistines and where was Ekron?! I learnt that the Philistines were an ancient people known for their conflict with the Israelites described in the Bible. Ekron was one of the five cities of the famed Philistine pentapolis. Baal was was a title and honorific meaning "lord". In Hebrew, Beelzebub literally translates to lord of the flies.

According to demonology lore, when Satan first rebelled, he recruited several very powerful seraphim, Beelzebub amongst them to fight at his side. When summoned by witches and sorcerers, he would appear in t he form of a fly because 'Lord of the Flies was his nom de guerre.

Anyway, Bohemian Rhapsody made much more sense after learning about all this. The things I learn in this dictionary journey.

beelzebub.jpg

Sort:  

The idea to create this over a page of dictionary is really great. You are a creative soul :)

Glad you like it :) Thanks for stopping by!

pleasure was all mine :))

I did not see Beelzebub as the lord of flies, it was more evil in my imagination.

I think Beelzebub is just called the lord of the flies and he's definitely associated with evil.

Greetings @manouche! You've been nominated by the wonderful @jthiessen to win some SBD in my contest: https://steemit.com/art/@flaccidfervor/name-drop-showdown-sbd-giveaway. The winners (nominator & nominee, chosen at random) get to split the full payout 50/50. If you'd like another chance to win, and to spread the art love, feel free to nominate your favorite artist as well! Cheers ^.^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76