"Springflake" | Gallery: Motifs (Homage to Mothers Everywhere)

in #art6 years ago

I took this mandala a little further than usual because I just couldn't help it...
 
All I knew in the beginning was that I wanted something colourful. The title "Rainbow Flake" came to mind and I set to work...
 
But then some magic happened... As I shifted parameters to and fro, flowering shapes appeared out of the chaos... Shapes full of symbolism...
 
Symbols of what? Well, take a look ;)



Springflake

~~
Gallery: Motifs
Max. Print Size: 28" x 28"



“When spring came, even the false spring, there were no problems except where to be happiest. The only thing that could spoil a day was people and if you could keep from making engagements, each day had no limits. People were always the limiters of happiness except for the very few that were as good as spring itself.”

-- Ernest Hemingway


Spring always reminds me of my days as a pagan (that's a whole other story ;P) because my favourite pagan celebration was Ostara or Ēostre. Indeed, Easter originates from this pagan sabbat of fertility and had nothing to do with Christianity... The early church usurped the popular festival in order to convert more people.

But yes, it's all about fertility and new life, which is why I was thrilled to discover certain shapes in my mandala this week that are very reminicent of all sorts of female reproductive organs...

Look carefully and you'll see vaginas, clitorises, cervixes, fallopian tubes and ovaries!


Image Source

I don't speak Spanish but my Portuguese allows me to understand a lot of it. I believe the words of the artist translate to:

"My uterus is not a place to keep fear and pain...
My uterus is for creating and giving birth to life..."

So, I know that I'm a bit early for the Spring, at least here in the southern hemisphere (and the north must be wondering "Huh? Why you doing Spring now?" ;P) but I just had to go with "Springflake" when I saw the imagery and symbolism appearing out of the fractal chaos.

So I used this image as a diffuse colour pallette:

I then got stuck in, creating image after image, trying to find the perfect combination of colours, but nothing was satisfying my fine artist's aesthetic sense ;P ... So I saved over a dozen different ones of which I liked certain parts, and then stitched them together in Photoshop. Here are a few key ones:

Had I used my usual method of erasing by hand, it would have taken forever, so I used several images like these to be able to select the parts I wanted to change:

The image is 7000 x 7000 pixels, so, as usual, I've designed this details image for you to be able to see some of the details up close and personal... =)

And there you have it. My homage to mothers everywhere. Mothers, child-bearers, life-givers. We literally owe our existence to you and the pain you go through, and the love and nurture you provide. I especially want to say thank you to my own mother, Pixie Fey ... I know I'm late (or very early!) for Mother's Day, but I'm sure you don't mind =)

If you're a mother or mother-to-be and like this artwork, please send me a DM on Discord and I'll send over the high resolution file =)

Remember too that all my designs are for sale. See my site, Mandelsage.com, for details =) ... And I am open to doing commissions too!




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Black Hole" - Zen Colouring Contest | The Mandelsage Challenge - Why I Get Up Every Morning | "Larva on a Leaf" - Gallery: Fine Art
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All Images, Copyright @Mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Before using bidbots, consider that they are bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining this controversial topic is by @lukestokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72