"Seaflake" | Gallery: Motifs

in #art6 years ago

It's Monday (well, for an hour still, anyway) and that means... Another Mandala =)
 
I'm very late today with this because a) I spent a lot of time on some finer details on this one and b) mid-process, I was invited to play some "Chivalry: Medieval Warfare" with a good friend of mine ;P

 
After Ashflake and Cocoaflake I wanted something bright and colourful this week ^^



Seaflake

~~
Gallery: Motifs
Max. Print Size: 28" x 28"



“Ariel, listen to me. The human world is a mess.
Life under the sea is better than anything they got up there.
The seaweed is always greener
In somebody else's lake
You dream about going up there
But that is a big mistake
Just look at the world around you
Right here on the ocean floor
Such wonderful things around you
What more is you lookin' for?
Under the sea... Under the sea...
Darlin', it's better, down where it's wetter
Take it from me
Up on the shore they work all day
Out in the sun they slave away
While we devotin'
Full time to floating
Under the sea!”

-- Sebastian the Crab


The creation process:

 
Last week I showed you these images, each a tweak on the way to "Cocoaflake"...:

Well, I had saved the second image. So I took that and started sliding a single parameter slider, when boom, little fishes appeared! :

And that was it! I thought I'd have my next Mandala up early today! ... But nope... The colours took a lot of work. I couldn't get MB3D to produce a set of colours I liked, so I had to make several layers and do it all manually in photoshop.

Here, the fishes layer is on the left, while the water layer is on the right:

I painstakingly erased the shelley bits (and changed them to green later):

And this part took forever...
The satisfaction though, once I'd finished, was more than worth it:

Right! That's me. Sitting here trying to keep my eyes open. Goodnight!




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Chocolate with Red Berries" - dIFS Pong with @welshpixie! | "Moonlit Dystopia" - Art Explosion Contest Entry | Prophecy, Free Will and Evidence(?) for God
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

"Seaflake" image copyright, @mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94