"Omnis Phylogenesis" (working title: Tree of Life) | Gallery: Fine Art

in #art6 years ago

Have you seen the new "Cosmos" documentary, with Neil deGrasse Tyson? If not, you really, really should, as soon as you can.
 
It is an updated remake of Carl Sagan's classic documentary of the same name, based off of his book "Cosmos", which is still very much worth reading today.
 
The book/series explores the history of modern cosmological science... After watching it, I guarantee you, you'll feel humbled and excited at the prospect that you are alive and self-aware...
 
Anyway, some time ago, I started what I call the Cosmos Project: To create one piece of art per Cosmos episode, inspired by that episode. I got as far as episode 2... lol.
 
Now, while I'm very happy with the first piece of the project, which I will be sharing here on Steemit later, the second piece, which you see below, I decided later I was not happy with. I mean, I'm very happy with it in itself, but I'm not happy with it being the 2nd installment of the Cosmos project. I watched that episode again (it's mainly about evolution), and truly, I feel I can do better.
 
So with this post, I'm sharing Omnis Phylogenesis and introducing the project, but just know that episode 2 will have a different piece of art representing it =)

 



Omnis Phylogenesis

~~
Gallery: Fine Art
Max. Print Size: 40" x 30"



“Thus, from the war of nature, from famine and death, the most exalted object which we are capable of conceiving, namely, the production of the higher animals, directly follows. There is grandeur in this view of life, with its several powers, having been originally breathed into a few forms or into one; and that, whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity, from so simple a beginning endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been, and are being, evolved.”

-- Charles Darwin, The Origin of Species



The Creation Process:

 
The creation process took many steps, the first of which was finding the tree shape in the first place. Luckily for me, this is a very common fractal shape and the formulae were not hard to find. What was hard was tweaking the parameters (all in Mandelbulb 3D) into a shape I was happy with. This GIF shows a VERY much simplified representation of how that process took place:

After that, the really hard work began... I had to create various high-res. images in different colours and then import them into Photoshop as different layers... Simple enough:

Next, painstakingly erasing the right bits on the right layers so that the shape looked, in the end, like a tree with branches and leaves. I must have sat for a total of 8 hours or more, slowly erasing different parts, making sure to keep to the pattern I had chosen, especially at the edges of the leaves...:

Lastly, I played around a bit with different Photoshop filters to create and interesting background/border:

And that was that =) ...

I must repeat: If you haven't seen the incredible Cosmos series yet, do it now! It's on Netflix. And watch this space for future installments of my Cosmos Project =)




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Tron" - @sndbox and @creativecrypto Contest Entry | "Rubiscus" - Gallery: Motifs | "Fears and Their Flames" - Poems, 019
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All images, copyright @mandelsage - All rights reserved.

Before using bidbots, consider that they are bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining the terrible bidbot situation is by Steemit witness @lukestokes - click here to go to his post.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Many, many thanks! =)

Hi @mandelsage!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with ocd - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Oh wow, very cool, thank you @utopian-io and whoever the manual curator was from @ocd!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63