Having some fun with zentangle art collaboration

in #art8 years ago

Just for fun, I decided to play around with @everlove's latest collaborative art project. Even though I probably broke the rules by diverging from the zentangle style, it is possible that my inability to follow directions will be forgiven when I donate any STEEM earned by this post to @everlove's Steemfest travel fund. Hope you enjoy the result!


My piece of this collaboration started with a marker drawing.

Although instructed to print out @everlove's work, I took the collaboration in a different direction, and used GIMP to separate @everlove's zentangle lines from their background.

Next, I set these lines over an image of my drawing.

The human form, nature, and the procedures of consciousness from which art springs are all made out of the same stuff, and so are organized in similar ways. This is illustrated by how neatly the zentangle drawing fits with the marker drawing.

Of course, just pasting one work over another doesn't exactly make for an artful expression of this notion.

So I did some editing to get us there. Mostly, I focused on movement and proportions, using bold color contrasts to lend the piece thematic consistency. As a final touch, I added some STEEM squiggles.

While the end result is a bit messy and kind of weird, I think it's pretty cool. What do you think?

What do you think?

Sort:  

If this work was done playing I can not imagine what you can do if you do seriously. congratulations my friend @mada

Thanks! (also, if making art isn't playing, then what is the point?)

I'll play with you anyday!

This is an amazing piece of work. Beautiful composition, colours and layering. A mighty fine collaboration!

I love it!

The "messy" colors, the movement, the way it all works together. It's fantastic.

I agree to all of that @merej99! Sweet piece.

Glad you like it!

The final image sort of reminds of some other world - but one that is an actual place where stuff looks how this picture feels.

Woah!!! Oh my @mada--what a fun collaboration piece this is! And thank you for the donation to me for Amsterdam. You're another angel! I had an AMAZING time and all the effort to get there so worth it. I'm really glad you did this collaboration and that you didn't follow instructions--that's what we artists do, right? This is really fabulous and I want to do more with you. When I get home and rested from Steemfest, and finishing posting all (or at least some of the 100s) of my photos, I'll begin again to do some collaboration. Please join in. This is AWESOME!

Glad you like it, and happy to help: )

I will be looking forward to the next collaborative art thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58954.91
ETH 2508.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45