The OFFICIAL Steemit Cocktail of the Day

in #art8 years ago

The Steemit

COCKTAIL OF THE DAY

"Making a proper cocktail is an art"

* Here you will find, on a daily basis, a brand new cocktail recipe, the proper ingredients, preparation, garnish and glassware -- everything you need to know to really enjoy a nice cocktail as you post away… *

Being here on Steemit has been exciting, exhausting, nerve-wracking, and yes, sometimes even scary… My first post on Steemit had to do with the death of my father… And I have never really exposed that part of my life, before… And, Yes -- it was more than a little nerve-wracking and scary, at the same time.

It also has to do with me being a bartender -- a very good bartender!

And during the creation of that post.., and after it was finished -- boy did I need a drink… And not just any drink, but an actual cocktail.., to sipped and savored -- to take the edge off…

And I didn't have to think about what cocktail it should be, at all… I knew, immediately -- The Old Fashioned. It was the perfect choice to sip on, as I sometimes struggled to actually get out what was in my head and heart, into this my first post.

And it did, exactly what a good, properly made cocktail should do…

It relaxed those nerves and opened up all those things we like to keep hidden from the rest of the world… Granted, most of you have probably not read it, since, to date it has made a whopping $1.31 and we are 2 weeks in…

But that is neither here, nor there… We are here to introduce -- THE STEEMIT COCKTAIL OF THE DAY!

Day 1. The Old Fashioned --

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 oz of good Rye whisky (I like Templeton rye)
  • 1 sugar cube
  • 3-4 dashes of Angostura bitters
  • 3-4 dashes of Orange bitters
  • tiny splash water (no more than a tsp)
  • Tumbler glass -- Bucket glass -- Rocks Glass (whichever you call it)

Preparation:

  • Add your sugar cube to glass
  • Add both bitters (don't be afraid of the bitters)
  • Add the dash of water
  • Muddle the above until sugar is completely and you have a nice syrup texture
  • Add ice (don't skimp on the ice -- fill the glass)
  • Now add your Rye whisky
  • Garnish with a nice orange zest (the outer part of the orange peel -- no white of the peel should be left)
  • But before placing the zest in your finely made drink -- rub the peel around the lip of the glass -- twist, squeeze and add to cocktail

You will see variations of this recipe all over the place… And it's okay to riff on the classics -- but this is the proper way (a classic) to enjoy this cocktail. You have just made a proper pre-prohibition Old Fashioned… Now sit back and enjoy.., you deserve it!

There are many different opinions, as to what the first cocktail, actually was… I choose not to argue when it comes to booze -- Im always right. And The Old Fashioned is in my opinion the first ever cocktail and another reason it was chosen to be the first Steemit Cocktail of the Day!

Believe it or not, this on-going series of cocktail recipes was inspired by one of my favorite Steemers, @fairytalelife and her amazing tutorials on drawing. So cheers, @fairytalelife

And don't forget to stop back tomorrow for more...





Sort:  

I also find it interesting to cut a piece of zest about the size of a coin, and hold it above the glas besides a lighter. It releases the aromatic oils of the zest
(Note, it is not the goal to set the cocktail on fire)

Nice touch @walkerlv :)) You get that little spark and a tiny hint of burnt orange!

I will try to prepare, I hope, it will be tasty

I have no doubt you will whip-up a very tasty treat. Cheers @rucoin

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

About linkback_bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44