The story of Flutter Butterfly - original artwork for my daughter

in #art6 years ago

butterfly-800-72.jpg

This piece (Flutter Butterfly) was inspired by and created for my [then] baby daughter, Elida.

As a baby she was fascinated by a collage I’d created for my wife and our third wedding anniversary, which hangs on our bedroom wall.

Whenever we took Elida into our room, she’d keep looking at it, with its strong colours and bold shapes. Even until the age of two, her attention would always be drawn to it.

So, I decided to create a collage piece for her bedroom wall – and hopefully one she’ll love for a long time.

Even today, she still loves anything with a butterfly on it, and creating this piece was an absolute joy – although an incredibly time consuming one.

And now, at four (nearly five) years old, as she’s learning to read, she’s discovering new elements of the artwork – which draws her attention to it again. This is exactly what I’d hoped would happen when I created it, and that it would bring her more enjoyment as time passes.

I hope that she’ll gain a new level of appreciation for Flutter Butterfly once she can read fluently and understands the concept of the artwork; from the small details, to the combinations which make up the whole.

As a side-note; I credit this piece with inspiring me to take my artwork from something I created for my family (and in some cases that only I would see), to sharing it with others.

The artwork is 60x60cm (24x24 inches) square and continues around the edges of the canvas.

The process

First, I search for and carefully select magazine pages and cuttings, giving me a palette to work from – which took a long, long time for this piece.

I had to make sure that not only did the colours work, but that the images, and words on each piece would fit the final design, and be appropriate for a piece of artwork created for my young daughter.

A much harder process than picking up a few tubes of paint.

I usually sketch the design onto the canvas, then place each cutting within the design, gluing them to the canvas. I’m trying to develop a looser style, but I guess my approach is born of my design background.

Using glue (I use Mod Podge) and paper on canvas leads to some wrinkling on the surface of the artwork. This is unavoidable due to how paper reacts when wet. But the wrinkles add texture and character to the final piece, which I love.

Why collage?

I love the juxtaposition of complexity and simplicity it allows.

I love the idea of recycling and remixing in art. It isn’t copying, it’s creating something unique from different, existing elements.

When you stand back to view the final piece, your eye combines colours and smaller images on the canvas.

You often notice something new, even after viewing the same piece many times, that you’d never noticed before.

Other collages I’ve created

Take a look at a few of my previous posts, with the Ampersand series of designs:

https://steemit.com/art/@m-ssed-t/original-collage-artwork-ampersand-01
https://steemit.com/art/@m-ssed-t/original-collage-artwork-ampersand-02
https://steemit.com/art/@m-ssed-t/original-collage-artwork-ampersand-03

I’ll be sharing more art, photography and design work in the future; I’d love to have you follow along. I have big plans for Steem and will be releasing lots of new content.

I’d love to hear your thoughts

I created these posts because I’d love to hear your thoughts – on the artwork, the style or my approach to creating art?

Sort:  

I have always loved collages. This is beautiful and inspiring and your daughter is very lucky to have such a talented and artistic father.

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words :)

This has come out to be very beautiful. Unique concept and using the papers.

Thanks :) The "torn magazine collage" concept isn't mine - it's been done before (I first saw it done by Derek Gores - you should check his work out online), but I love how these pieces turn out. I've tried to take the style in my own direction (see my Ampersands linked in this post), but I guess nothing is "original" anymore.

This is such a great piece. Thank you for sharing the process. It's also admirable that your work has captivated your daughter's attention perhaps activating her own artistic abilities deep inside her. Sometimes children see things that adults cannot.

I also like creating and on the finishing touches of my first collage ever. I hope to post soon.

I will upvote, follow and resteem this post for future reference.

Thank you.

I certainly hope she does become artistic. I think she's destined for the stage at the moment - as well as being a drama queen, she loves every opportunity to get up on stage in front of people (certainly not got that from me!

Good luck with your first collage peice. If there's one thing I'd suggest (and something I need to do myself), it's to be free, and spontaneous in your decisions as you put the piece together. You can always re-do sections again, but you sometimes have "happy accidents", which turn out better than your original idea.

Thank you so much. And I will take your advise.

hola hermoso collage....me encanto sus alegres colores...muy inspiradora mariposa...tan libre como el viento....espero contar con tu apoyo en mi blog...saludos

hello beautiful collage .... I loved its cheerful colors ... very inspiring butterfly ... as free as the wind .... I hope to have your support in my blog ... regards

muchas gracias maggy :) thank you for stopping by and commenting

A la orden igualmente espero su voto y comentario en mi blog...saludos estamos en linea

Stunning @m-ssed-t. I love art in mixed media.

Thank you so much :)

Only a pleasure :)

You had one of the greatest motivators a person could have, well done.

I know. It's amazing what affect the birth of your first child has on you. I felt so inspired when I was creating this, and I'm really thankful she loved it, and continues to love it today. It's still on her wall, and she hasn't even asked to replace with My Little Pony posters (yet)! :)

talent artist

thanks - that means a lot to me

please visit my blog

Beautiful piece. The art is present in all us independently of who we are.

Thank you. Totally agree - too many people think they're not artistic. Most of us love to be artistic, and are free as kids, but lose our way as we get older.

Is true.Las mariposas de esa obra señalan la libertad al manifestar el arte.

I'm loving these fiery colors and it was really interesting to read about your process. Thanks for sharing. I'm going to take a peek at the ampersand series now, blessings <3

Thanks for your comment. I love the colours too, they're so vibrant. I think the butterfly would've worked in any colour scheme, but I chose these because they really pop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59