LOVE on 4 canvases – original collage artwork

in #art6 years ago

This is a series of 4 original art canvases, each one a collage design representing a letter.

I originally intended to complete the entire alphabet, but due to the length of time each canvas took to create, I put the series on hold.

L-O-V-E-thumbnail-800-72.jpg

But where better to start than L, O, V and E?

Each artwork is 30x30cm (12x12 inches) square and continues around the edges of the canvas.

The process

First, I search for and carefully select magazine pages and cuttings, giving me a palette to work from.

As each letter was designed to have a single colour background, and contrasting letter, it took a long time to find, and then sort enough magazine pieces with the required colours.

A much harder process than picking up a few tubes of paint.

I sketched the letter designs onto the canvas, then placed each cutting within the design, gluing them to the canvas. As the letter itself is the only design element, the most time-consuming aspect was in placing the pieces which make up the letter.

letter-set2-l-800-72.jpg

letter-set2-o-800-72.jpg

letter-set2-v-800-72.jpg

letter-set2-e-800-72.jpg

Using glue (I use Mod Podge) and paper on canvas leads to some wrinkling on the surface of the artwork. This is unavoidable due to how paper reacts when wet. But the wrinkles add texture and character to the final piece, which I love.

Why collage?

I love the juxtaposition of complexity and simplicity it allows.

I love the idea of recycling and remixing in art. It isn’t copying, it’s creating something unique from different, existing elements.

When you stand back to view the final piece, your eye combines colours and smaller images on the canvas.

You often notice something new, even after viewing the same piece many times, that you’d never noticed before. This is especially true of a series of [in this case] four canvases displayed together.

Other collages I’ve created

Take a look at a few of my previous posts, with the Ampersand series of designs and Flutter Butterfly:

https://steemit.com/art/@m-ssed-t/original-collage-artwork-ampersand-01
https://steemit.com/art/@m-ssed-t/original-collage-artwork-ampersand-02
https://steemit.com/art/@m-ssed-t/original-collage-artwork-ampersand-03
https://steemit.com/art/@m-ssed-t/the-story-of-flutter-butterfly-original-artwork-for-my-daughter

I’ll be sharing more art, photography and design work in the future; I’d love to have you follow along. I have big plans for Steem and will be releasing lots of new content.

Share your thoughts

I wrote this post because I’d love to hear what you have to say – on the artwork itself, the style of collage, or my approach to creating art?

Sort:  

I am a fan. Upvoting and following...Hooked For life!!! @m-ssed-t

Thank you so much...really happy you like :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31