I drew Explosions for 27 days, this is the resulting progression. [Warning: No deep meaning, just Enjoy]

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I'm still hungry but it was fun h-h-haha

qqq.jpg

Explosions are a fun concept, and I thought it would be a cool theme to explore textures, color, and multiple mediums (digital and traditional).

I'm not going to elaborate on why this exploration would matter to me because people react differently to abstract (non-literal) art, and everyone sees and perceives things differently; I’m leaving it to you to find whatever meaning you wish. I find with most visual art that if I don’t like it at a first glance, little explanatory commentary from the creators (or worse, critics/intellectuals) will persuade me in enjoying it more. No one should feel pressured into “getting it”.

Day 1
Fineliner, ballpoint pen on paper.
I started small, on an A4 (21 x 29.7cm).

2.jpg

Day 2
Fineliner, ballpoint pen on paper.
I don’t like repeating myself in the patterns that I draw, so I tried to deconstruct it into looser shapes.

3.jpg

Day 3
Pencil, ballpoint pen on paper.
There’s a cool Instagram page called “secretbuttholes”. Appropriate?

4.jpg

Day 4
Fineliner on paper
Organic

5.jpg

Day 5
Pencil on paper
I started imagining these explosions as random (sudden) events in an environment. They pop into existence and afflict their surroundings.

6.jpg

Day 7 - Guardian
Pencil on paper
It was Mother’s Day. I felt that explosions can be contained and polished, instead of letting them just be a destructive force.

7.jpg

Day 8
Pencil, fineliner, marker, ballpoint pen and hard erasing on paper.
I almost ripped the page apart when doing this one, and now it’s very thin. Colors!

8.jpg

Day 9 - Melon
Pencil, fineliner, marker and ballpoint pen on paper.
I really wanted to go “crazy” with it. Eh, stupid artistic impulses. At the end of the day, I’m still a person sitting on a chair and moving my hands around.

9.jpg

Day 11
Acrylic paint on canvas
I was getting tired of paper and pen-like instruments.

10.jpg

Day 13 - Sun
Ballpoint pen on paper
Scribbles, snags and snarls; trying to see an emerging sense in the chaos.

11.jpg

Day 14 - Aaaaaaaaa
Ballpoint pen on paper

12.jpg

Day 16
A mix of illustration and photography

13.jpg

Day 17
V&

14.jpg

Day 18
It’s somewhere over there, you can almost miss it if you look away.

15.jpg

Day 20-21-22-23
This one is 83 x 83cm and I did a quarter per day. I wanted each individual square to relate to the other ones and adjusted the textures so they don’t repeat themselves. Original is in red, but I scanned it and changed the hue to blue. I like them both. You can see the red one pinned up in the next photo.
Acrylic and ink on card.

20.jpg

21.jpg

Extra (Day 24 - 27)

Hama Mouse
Don’t buy any mouse from Hama if it costs less than 4 dollars. I was so frustrated with it that I took it apart and framed it. Yeah, that should teach the fucker.

e2.jpg

Animation

THANK YOU for making it this far!
There are a few that didn't make the cut, so I apologise if there aren't 27 of them here. I'm really hoping for feedback, opinions, anything! Especially if you don't like them. What do you think?

About me:

I was born in Focsani, Romania and have a degree in architecture from the University of Manchester. After working for a practice in London I decided that I want to do "art" (quotes because it can mean too many things, but people generally get the idea that you're self-indulging in your creations). I wish to help people through what I do, I haven't figured yet how.

At the moment I'm reading Metamagical Themas by Douglas Hofstadter.

I draw a lot more than these! If you want to see a pretty extensive portfolio of my work, check it out here: https://www.behance.net/tonneci

Have a productive Monday and enjoy this week, steemers.

Sort:  

@lookallover, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Thanks introduce.bot, I appreciate it, however impersonal and lame your comment is.

Dude, this stuff is absolutely incredible. I saw the link on Reddit and sort of had an expectation of what I might find: some cool drawings of explosions. Instead I was blow away (pun intended:)) by what you did here. The stuff drawn directly on paper was my favorite, but infusing the work with photography was also very cool and pretty unique. Also, seeing the mouse you took apart and framed was really awesome. Definitely a medium I never would have thought of. You've got some serious talent!

Hey Dimitri, thank you so much! I've just checked this page and saw your comment. I really appreciate that you took the time to write me these very kind words :-) I'm at the beginning with my work, still got an entire life to spend on it. I'll post more things on here, soon hopefully. Have a great day!

The mounted guts of the mouse is awesome.

Yo thank you Glinton, I like the way you phrased it, guts!
Alalalaala

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46