Drawing BlindsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art4 years ago

bcspindex

Every day in February, I took a few minutes to draw myself with the "blind contour" technique - that is, capturing the outlines (and a bit of filling in) of my face while not looking at what I was drawing. The idea is that this helps connect the eye with the hand more. The results are weird and messy and that's because the "results" don't matter, what's important is the process, the practice. Of course, part of the practice is resisting "cheating" by looking down. It's hard, after fifty years of looking back and forth between subject and paper, but the doing of it feels good.

So it's like many meditative practices, you don't do it to create a product, you do it to experience the practice and hopefully get better at that, then you see what else happens!

I miss it. I need to find something to replace it. I might, of course just go back and keep doing it - maybe changing some of the parameters - I was usually using the webcam on my laptop, though I also used my phone camera and only used a mirror once (guess which day!) Perhaps using a mirror every day might give me something different, certainly a less fuzzy view of me than my well-worn webcam. I also might try using a bigger piece of paper - I did these in a little A6 notebook, so there's not much space to "go wrong". I think scaling up to A4 might mean my hand has a lot more latitude to make crazy faces.

I'll let you know.

PS I'm not unaware of the witness drama, just not got anything to add to the reams that have already been written. Suffice to say I haven't changed my voting much except to unvote some dead ones and vote for people that I know are people because I've met them or read their writing or something. And I've turned on "Power Up 100%" for rewards for the time being so that even the 10 STEEM I might get for a post will go straight to supporting "our side".

Sort:  

Congratulations @lloyddavis! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24