Once addicted game. And how I improved my writing and my image editing little by little.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Note: This post was inspired when I was going through my archives, doing housekeeping on my thumb drive, because someone here once mentioned to me to find my old digital art posts

Ok, this is more of a girls' game, but many MANY years ago, when Facebook just became very popular, I am not sure any ladies out there know about it, I was addicted to this "paper doll concept" game called Make A Baby

I must say at the time, when day job was stressful and being single and hardly any time for friends, the cyber world was just one of my gateways to sanctuary for my tired mind.

And then came this game, it was kind of fun because it was SO CUTE! I myself actually loved anime and I used to help draw a little manga during my high school years I was totally awed by its cuteness.

kaleb-looks.png
something I screen captured at the time

You get to pick your baby's skin colour, hair, eyes, clothes; it's like that pc game... what is it again... Ah yes! The Sims , but in a 2D anime version.

You get to "feed" them and "dress" them and "see them grow", your very own human tamagochi . Why did I say that? Because their health bars can go down, etc. So yeah, you get what I mean.

running-on-fieldx300-w.png

My manga sketch of one of the cute bumble bee designs from the game

I even tried sketching them a little more here and there, but the real fun was when I got to team up with other girls who loved this game and we started role playing our "babies"

From their childhood, to their teenage years, to their adulthood.

And that's where the fun starts.

Every time when we role play something I would pretty much try to "capture" the role play into the image with all the baby's facial expression (through our actions with these digital characters)

Something like this:

afternoon-nap.png
an afternoon nap after a story telling time

or this one

kids-kltower.png
A road trip to KL Tower

Note: The Tower is actually my own photo, I just digitalised it to make it "cartoon" to fit the characters in.

It was just becoming more fun and more exciting to try on my Photoshop Elements skills and play around with what I have.

And as the "kids" grow older, it becomes kind of more amusing and exciting because it's like telling our children's lives through our eyes, a parent's tale.

I think this is how every parent feels, no matter how their kids are going to be, they will just have their side of the story to tell through their eyes.

From there I learn to manipulate in layers and get extra effects where usually the default rendered image is unavailable; and it was more positively challenging to make it for my role-playing friends.

chris-LE-blush-effect-sequence.png

And then, I started try to improve them each time we role play.

deep-sea-fishing-w.png

Using real boat photos and them added the characters in. Story: On a fishing trip

Making photos more vintage and lively

photo-tobias-rei-sunset-w.png

This was made for role play contest prize, if not mistaken

And started with more realistic photos as they "grow up"

asian-zoey-klia-express.png

Note: Picture setting was actually taken on my way to Hong Kong, modified to suit the role play

And haha, yes, I even created the M.A.B Studio Works "services" out of pure fun.

To one point that I have coined my own style of M.A.B "poked" images, which was quite a hit back then.

chef-em-w.png

It was good fun indeed. Occasionally I still try to poke a photo or two when I feel like it.

And that's how I get to learn a little more digital graphic editing as I go. And because of these role playing games, that got me into the hobby of taking photographs that could either be a background setting that could tell a story.

And that's how I got a D90, and my new journey discovering DSLR begins! (Whenever I have the time)

Sometimes, when you have something that is in your hands, maybe to some people it could just be a waste of time game, it could actually be something good if you know how to use what you have well. Most importantly is to stir it to the positive direction.

 
I have a role play online friend of this game who I still have contact with (and I hope will later join this warm Steemit community) would agree to that. Because of this game and the role playing we started creating "magazines covers" out of fun, and she actually catalysed it to actual photography magazines and she became an excellent professional photographer.

Now this is how you grow where you are planted!

At this point of time she is pre-occupied with family matters, and I am sure when she is ready she will find this is a great creative platform with great fun too!

But we pretty much are too old for role play now. LOL.

I hope you have find this post entertaining and fun reading part of my past.

If you are curious to see my other old works during this fun game's time (some may not be as good as my cherry picked photos here), do comment below!

Thank you for your time

help-promo-a2.png
Please click on the logo to read why I have this project of 1000 SBD at the first place.

Sort:  

This is actually awesome and yeah, some people call some hobbies useless because they don't see the purpose it might have away for being fun for someone, it might bring other rewards.

i totally agree @siragrays , but there are gamers who just play the game and be unproductive at the same time.
I guess is whatever we engage in, be it games or other hobbies, is always to have that curiousity of

how can I improve it better?

We have come to an era that services are so good and at hand, innovation seems to have dwindled down.

Totally agree! since people sometimes dont really use the resources in the way they might and ends up being a problem, I think most of the games, hobbies are beneficial for certain point of view.

Depending on what sort of game though. These days, all sorts of weird games are out there that does nothing beneficial.

cool photo edits... Chris is so cute... :D

haha... yes. His role player Ale was a really sweet lady and Chris' character was shadowed by her sweetness.
I think it was about Do you have a crush role playing session and it was just a lot of fun visualising and imagining how would our own kids react when this question was thrown at them. (it was all not planned so the re-actions replied in written form was really nice to read)
More like a story telling hobby.

I think I get it. It's sort of like a "how to draw manga" comic art, right? I think it's great that someone is taking the time to show people how to draw this kind of stuff. I always wanted to know how to do anime and manga. My favorite anime was Ninja Scroll, and I also liked Akira.

um.... it is more like showing creativity is limitless, and it can help you find your talent and you can even become your career if you put your passion to it.
Like how this game helped developed my writing and drawing and image editing skills.
Though I cannot say I am a pro LOL.

New follower! I would love to pass time in space playing this.

Making #steemgigs proud. Keep flexing those creative muscles!

Thanks for the encouragement @steemgigs .
It was indeed a lot of fun making those at the time, even created fan-art based of "clothing-line" just to make role play more interesting. :)
Maybe I will dig deeper for my old creations and share it here. Perhaps, there were some old players here that is in steemit might remember them and rekindle some good old memories and friendship too. :)

Very nice..
Kepp it up!

thanks @paritoshbisht :)
I hardly do such extensive digital art work nowadays

Wow, you've put a lot into this article... Great to see it doing well! :)
Upvoting and resteeming

Well, it was part of my life's journey. It was kind of hard to break it into parts. :p
(c/o @littlenewthings )

very nice, best way to learn is to just try new things :)
Image of dksartRegularSteemit

yes, @dksart, and never think we know everything lol.

Haha.. What a Nice Article !
Good Job

Follow me @daiiat

Thanks @daiiat . I will check your profile later.

Very nice work! Good post! Thanks!

Thanks @firepower I am glad you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84