Current Work in Progress! NEED CRITIQUE PLEASE

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Been working on this painting for months!

Honestly started with the figure (that's me btw hehehe) and then busted out the colours all around it. And now I'm stumped on the background. It's not working?? The colours? The contrast? I have no idea how to "fix" it.

Please brutally tell me how I can improve.
**Also note that the lips aren't done

thumbnail (1)965653.jfif

Sort:  

I can't find anything wrong in this. Are you out of your mind? hahaa. I think you don't really need sugestions. The things you make are beautiful because of the way you made them. Nobody but you will understand your art better than yourself.
Finish the painting and surprise us.

First things first: Welcome to Steem! I'm really glad to have you here.

Now to the critique. My first wife was an artist, and often painted works in progress grey. She had canvases that were half an inch thick!. But the one thing I learned out of all of that is that my critique had no final impact, and in fact might piss her off. So. What I'm going to say is 'glad you are here'. I DO like the colors.

not working based on what? I would put that on my wall as is. Some metallic gold accents would pop though

It's totally awesome! I could see this art made on the side of a 7 story concrete building :)

Gosh, your works are really amazing! I like the colors! I think the smooth portrait and the textured background work really well. Welcome to Steem!

I'm really glad I joined! Great for validation, but also the community makes me happy to paint again. Hopefully with more funds in my future I would love to send a painting to you as a thank you for your kindness!

I feel you. Cos of the community here I was encouraged to do art more. And nooo you don’t have to do that! By sending a painting, you mean ship to me? That would be very expensive!! I would rather have you spend the money on buying materials for your art. :)

I've sent art before to internet friends! That's what gifts are for :) And that's what art is for! To share my art! I WILL SEND YOU A PAINTING IN THE FUTURE.

Aaww you're so sweet!! Okay then, I won't refuse ^_^

Haha I love this, the art community here and on Reddit is amazing.

You’re going to get a lot of welcome notifications. I found this article because you tagged #artzone. Welcome to Steemit. I wouldn’t change anything, all I’d ask for is maybe a couple of progress pictures—that’s it. 👍🏿

Wow this one is even cooler! Love all the details in it so far and the 3d effect on her clothing. Can't wait to see the finished product!

I feel like the subject is overwhelmed with so much color and whatnot, right??? Like BAM! It's too much.

Haha nah not too much! It's great, you just take more time to appreciate all the details and all the different colors!

I kind of... really dig where it’s at right now. Something about the subtle floral patterns and paint splatters mixed in with the less abstract imagery is working really well for me.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's amazing, @littlecoykoi! I love it as it is, to be honest, im loving the contrast between the realism of the portrait and the abstract forms of the colours :)

I do think I'd work on integrating the abstract forms around the hair a little... but other than that, it's looking really wonderful !

Welcome to Steemit! What a great thing to have a talent like yourself on board :D :D :D

OooooOOooo the haiiirrr! I'll def work on that detail! Thank you so much for the encouragement. Means a lot for a noob like me!!

omg you are SO not a noob ; __ ;

you are SO SO SO SO good * ___ *

Congratulations @littlecoykoi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67130.22
ETH 3466.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73