Jump Shot | Lires Artwork Process | Original Art

in #art7 years ago

js.png

Hey guys! I'm back with another artwork process. An artwork depicting the opposite of the current season. xD Well, with global warming around, it won't take long before we experience summer all through out the year or something similarly drastic. Enough of the dystopian talk. Let's get it on!

Before I begin, I would just like to suggest that you vote for @curie for witness here https://steemit.com/~witnesses. @curie has helped a lot of artist who's just starting here on steemit, just like me.

And also check out @smartsteem! I think they're onto something amazing for quality-post steemers!

Sketching

Originally, I planned this to look like a screenshot of a smartphone taking a picture.

js ske.png

Inking

Btw, the cat's name is "Patay". His my avatar's cat. Patay means dead in tagalog.

js ink.png

Flats

Not much to flat, since majority of the artwork is just skin.

js fla.png

Painting

Painting the subject.

js pnt a.png

It's really tricky to the eye, painting something in a shade without seeing the final state. It creates an illusion that the girl's skin has a dark tone, which in reality, does not. Sometimes, to avoid this, you can darken the other flats before rendering. That way, it's less confusing.

js pnt b.png

You can see that after I've colored almost everything, the skin looks light now.

Adding Blur

Added blur to put the focus on the girl.

js blr.png

Final Product

After I added some textures. I also made it look like it was an old poster.

js fin.png

Now I miss the beaches of the Philippines. ( ;_;)

I hope you liked my post and I hope you find this art process worth your while. I'll try to post more. ^-^
Bye for now!

-lires

Sort:  

Very good @lires! You useed a graphic table for the painting process, right? It's Perfect!

That's correct! Thanks!

Is that vector or you use the brush tool? Sorry to be boring, but I really liked your painting style, the lines are very well designed!

I work rasterized. You won't (or atleast I think) be able to paint on vector. :)

Yes, I can be able to paint a vector, using the blob brush tool and the live paint bucket tool, Like I used on this work and if I had a graphic table it would be easier!

I think you must have confused painted with cel-shaded. ^-^; Painted is where the colors are blended. Just like this artwork.

Yes, may be I confused myself! ^^ Its actually what your're saying!

Painted is where the colors are blended.

Doing what you did on vector, or it would be very difficult or impossible! ^^

Thank's for sharing your skills!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 20.34% vote... I was summoned by @lires! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84