You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: John Constable - A Naturalist Painter of Great Skill

in #art6 years ago

Constable’s landscape drawings where breathtaking aren’t they? the “ Flatford Mill” painting just blows me away, I love the little boy sitting on the Clydesdale horse. What a great painter of trees, I wonder if he studied different types of trees, because he sure did paint a variety of many different kinds. Or did he only paint exactly what he saw? Fascinating thank you @deemarshall❣️

Sort:  

I'd love to see them in real life. Flatford Mill is my fave too. I think he spent some time touring round studying so maybe he did study trees. He didn't have photography to help him and his paintings took so long so he had to make sketches to remember what he'd seen, I guess. There's no one like him now, is there? Everything, including paintings, is done so fast now.

Thank you so much for your comment and upvote. I'm very grateful :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66915.04
ETH 2586.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68