John Constable - A Naturalist Painter of Great Skill

in #art6 years ago (edited)

'The Hay Wain', 1821 by John Constable

Wikipedia

'The Hay Wain' is the painting by Constable that I know best. When I was a child I had a collection of art cards and this is when I first saw this painting. I remember thinking that would be a fun place to play.

I still like the peaceful scene. I marvel at its detail. Who needs photography if you can paint like this!

John Constable was an English landscape artist who lived from 1776 to 1837.

Constable joined the family coal and corn business when he 16 but soon began to devote his life to painting. He first exhibited in the Royal Academy in 1802. He also began taking commissions.

Constable was a 'Naturalist' painter. Naturalism was a 19th-century movement. Naturalist painters tried to paint things as they appear to the human eye.

It's very hard for me to choose which of Constable's many landscapes to show you but here are some of my favourites:

'Flatford Mill', 1817, by John Constable

Tate

Again, the detail amazes me. No wonder this artwork took a year to paint. A lot of it was painted en plein air (outside). I love the way the sunlight makes the horse the focal point. This painting really reminds me how the pace of life was slower in those days.

'The White Horse', 1819 by John Constable

Truly Art

This painting makes me realise how great the part was that horses played in life in those days. It's interesting to see the buildings too. What nice surroundings they had.

John_Constable_-_Wivenhoe_Park,_Essex_-_Google_Art_Project.jpg

'Wivenhoe Park, Essex', 1816 by John Constable

Wikipedia

I would love to paint en plein air in a beautiful park near me. John Constable actually did it!

I leave you with a photo of John Constable's Suffolk studio.

917 John Constable 01a.jpg

Have you visited the Steemit Art Centre? There are some cool artworks there to view. Here is the link to follow:

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/6bgxjy-steemit-art-centre-saturday-s-update

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

WARNING! The comment below by @shovon51 leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Beautiful! I love Constable, his landscapes allow us to travel in time and space.

Yes, they do.

Constable’s landscape drawings where breathtaking aren’t they? the “ Flatford Mill” painting just blows me away, I love the little boy sitting on the Clydesdale horse. What a great painter of trees, I wonder if he studied different types of trees, because he sure did paint a variety of many different kinds. Or did he only paint exactly what he saw? Fascinating thank you @deemarshall❣️

I'd love to see them in real life. Flatford Mill is my fave too. I think he spent some time touring round studying so maybe he did study trees. He didn't have photography to help him and his paintings took so long so he had to make sketches to remember what he'd seen, I guess. There's no one like him now, is there? Everything, including paintings, is done so fast now.

Thank you so much for your comment and upvote. I'm very grateful :)

Very Nice. Look here and I will provide you more votes http://mcg6000.com/booster

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49