A Mushroom Monday Art Collaboration with @everlove – King Oyster FeaststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

Check out these amazing king oyster mushrooms purchased from local growers at the store. I was tempted to hunt around in the forest and pose them on a rotten log somewhere for mushroom Monday, but that would be cheating.

20170114_1048017475a.jpg

But that gave me an idea. What about combining it with the invitation to collaborate in the post, Wisdom of the Ancients made by @everlove.

Here’s the result:
IMG_1297_DAP_Aquarell8f9e3.jpg

Here’s the photo version:
IMG_129782c8a.jpg

Normally if you see mushrooms growing out of a tree like this the trunk has been dead a long time. Hacking off a tree branch can cause issues sometimes. Drilling a large hole through the base of an ancient tree injures it too and can cause it to topple as we have seen recently in the loss of an old sequoia.

Yet downed trees in the forest can be very beneficial for a wide variety of insects, birds, animals, other things, and of course – mushrooms.

Mushrooms can be very tasty and provide a texture and flavor not unlike meat if prepared right. Here a photo of the mushrooms with tasty barbecue sauce on them after they came from the oven:

20170115_145155330d4.md.jpg

Here they are shredded into little strips not unlike pulled pork:

20170115_15395957977.md.jpg

Ready for steaming with some added materials:

20170115_160715f3324.md.jpg

Steaming away in the wok:

20170115_162300bae44.md.jpg

Some finishing touches with more barbecue sauce and oven cooking:
20170115_1731295be13.md.jpg

The wonderful plate of mushroom barbecue riblets:

20170115_1743408efd7.md.jpg

There’s nothing like sitting down to nice meal with a beer. I fantasized about stalking the wild mushroom de’ beast in the woods with my spear and arrows for protection in the deep dark schwarzwald (black forest).

The texture and taste was just wonderful. I think it is really neat that more traditional recipes are beginning to be made with vegan or vegetarian ingredients.

Here’s a link to the original recipe if your interested. Youtube video – Braised Beef* Short Ribs


Thanks for reading! All photos and art type stuff are my work or collaboration – the pictures were taken with my Galaxy S7. The video linked to is not my work.

Sort:  

Awesome post @lightsplasher! I was actually thinking about mushroom-monday myself earlier today. Your preparations really do look delicious :D

And @everlove, I am super interested in that post about collaboration...another crumb along the trail!

Here's one from my photo archives. No worries, I definitely did not taste this one.
shroomy
Take care :->

Thanks for commenting - I'm glad you liked it! Most pore mushrooms like that are edible but I would get a positive identification before I ate it. Nice picture. :)

YAY @lightsplasher!!! Not only is that an incredible image transformation, but you added another entire layer of awesomeness to this collaboration. You are the first to add a recipe to the mix!!! I love trees and mushrooms, and I love this post!!! Grateful for your participation in this journey.

Thank you!! Thanks for starting the ball rolling and your comment! So much of the time I need a little push to be creative and I really appreciate the feedback. :)

Whoa! OMG! Look at the size of that oyster mushroom! Crazy. I have to say - I have never eaten an oyster mushroom, but I LOVE chanterelles! And I think they are similar? Look similar, anyway.
Really cool how you added it into @everlove 's photo! I like it!

Thank you! I haven't eaten many chanterelles but I remember them being very good but a bit more watery than the king oyster mushroom with a lighter flavour. (If I'm thinking of the right mushroom) I think it depends on how things are prepared though. I love trying all different types of mushrooms they vary a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35