"The Spice Must Flow" (art)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Made with Flame Painter in 4K (3840 x 2160). Like most, this started as a single brush stroke, which informed me what to do next. :)

I forget which brushes I've used to make various paintings in the past, so this time I wrote down which brushes made which layers. The first brush was the dunes, using Golden Wing, with the default color.

The foreground, the sand, was done with Fire Fibre, using the same color as the above (34 209 235). I also made a sky, with this brush, but didn't like it so hid it, then I changed it more than the undo buffer could fix, so I deleted it.

I used the brush Noise for the stars and moon, using a gradient which goes from pink-to-white, not sure how to accurately describe the gradient; it's the eighth one down in the left column, in my view (which has two columns) -- but I might have added a gradient, so it might not be the same as "out of the box"...

Anyway, then I added glow and blur to each of the layers, variously, and thought of the title, from the "Dune" books by Frank Herbert.

He also wrote the book "The White Plague" which was about a bio-researcher who sees his wife and child killed by a car bomb, and decides to make a disease to kill all the women. Really interesting story, especially the societal changes ("primary husband," etc), and similarity to plagues of old, where people would hole up and not allow strangers in, and would "shoot first."

"Dune" was also made into a movie in 1984, with Sting (and Patrick Stewart, 3 years before ST:TNG!). I don't remember it as very good, though; fortunately I had read the book first.

I thought of making a spice worm, to go with the title, but I need more practice I think. :)

The Spice Must Flow+c.png




Sort:  

Amazing! Can't wait to have this hung for us to enjoy!

It’s got an eerie emptiness... civilization but no where close...

https://steemit.com/dsound/@paulmoon410/momma-paul-moon-with-rig

Could be Egypt, perhaps. I read the Imhotep series a couple years ago, excellent time-travel books, like "A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court" but set in 5,000-year-old Egypt. Not my taste, but good luck with your music!

That’s a strange combo. Sweet and sour... metaphor.

That is impressive, I have used that program a couple of times.....looks like you have got a handle on how to use that program!!!

Yeah, I'm getting the hang of it. So many options to it though! Each brush can be tweaked, in a dozen or so different ways. Lots of fun to experiment with!

This is an awesome post @libertyteeth thanks for sharing

Beautiful picture! I like the flowing yellow and the fire fibre in the foreground.

Wow, Excellent art! Your creativity is different than others . Keep going.

Those sparkling details wow :O

Excellent painting my friend, it looks like a night life in deserts with a clear sky and shinning moon, it looks so clear and beautiful, thanks for sharing

Thank you so much, it's so neat to be able to make something others enjoy. My wife @countrylover says she wants this one on our wall, that's so cool! :)

Hello @libertyteeth

I know very little about flame painter but being an urban planner i use to love anything that can add aesthetics touches to our physical environment.....so i would say weldone sir for this amazing pieces of art.

@nuges

Hello sir you are trying to tell us About the bruses that you had used earlier you really described well and how to use. That .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49