Drawing with Artificial Intelligence

in #art7 years ago

AI is getting creative!



I spent an hour doodling on the computer while a web interface interpreted my drawings into creepy but fascinating masterpieces! If this is a hint at the types of creative collaborations humans and AI will be capable of in the future, then I can't wait!

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 7.08.28 PM.png

Okay, first of all, you can go make your own doodles for the interface to interpret here. It's a lot of fun. Be warned: you might get sucked in for hours.

The fotogenerator allows you to draw in the box on the left, using only a fairly imprecise line-drawing tool and an eraser.



Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 6.59.20 PM.png

It does a better job with curly hair than with straight hair.

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 6.57.50 PM.png

A lot of the drawings come out looking kinda creepy.

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 6.54.53 PM.png

Some intentionally so.

It seems to be trained to identify certain facial shapes, like eyes and mouths. It also seems to be interpreting the coloration of the drawing based on zones within the square.



Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 6.56.17 PM.png

Which is probably why this guy got hair, even though I drew him bald.

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 6.49.24 PM.png

I guess you have to color in the hair or the fotogenerator won't recognize it, and will shade it with a flesh color.

I don't think Fotogenerator quite understands animals yet.



Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 6.41.36 PM.png

But this cat is pretty cool. Reminds me of the Cheshire cat, for some reason. Though it looks like it wants a cigar.

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 6.51.56 PM.png

Now this one is pretty crazy. I tried to put spots on the dog, but the fotogenerator interpreted some of them as eyes! Creepy...

After playing around for awhile, I noticed that the larger you draw the facial components, the better the program is at recognizing them. Oh, and you have to put the components in the right place, or it gets confused, lol.



Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 6.47.36 PM.png

Look at those teeth!

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 6.45.22 PM.png
This one is my favorite.

Thank you for reading! Share your fotogenerator creations in the comments!

And please follow me @lesliestarrohara

Sort:  

Damn those are creepy!

I think that it sucks big time! but your favorite time looks like Marilyn Manson! images.jpg

Aw, I think it's kinda cool! I mean, yeah, the finished product is terribly creepy, but it's trying!

AWESOME Followed and upvoted ..!

Thanks, @yusaymon ! Followed you back. I love your artwork!

You´re awesome <3 thank u very much

Hey cool post mate. Nice read.

Awesome share, thanks! You deserve a:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66