What's on the Easel - March 27

in #art7 years ago


Here's an update of what is coming down the pipeline in the studio. I'm normally working on one at a time, but there is a longer term goal of a larger artwork combining these two figures that I have in mind. Its grey and cold outside, so the extra work indoors is welcome. Besides I'm itchy to get to the larger artwork.

I'll include some music to add to the mix that you can listen to while you contemplate these works in progress.


Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

busy guy, which reminds me: I ought to get off this devil machine and go to my studio!

Crack that whip! Get busy sir. =)

haha - yeah, it's like in the old days ...... https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flagellant ..... but I barely remember, its been a while 🤣
got some stuff on the burner, 2 drawings for a show in Seattle.

You still haven't left for the studio? We need some other "instruments of persuasion". ;-)

I seem to always have one thing I'm working on but then am always starting new things and going back and dabbling on this or that. I have to follow my whims :)

Thank you for the music it's the perfect background for my Singularity pieces, it's like the soundtrack to their lives if they were in a movie.

I love the build up of your figures and your touches of light are going to be amazing as they build up, although I love them even this way. That's why now that I work digitally I work on so many levels because I think some of the unfinished phases deserves to 'live' as a painting on their own. I used to think that too when I just did oil IRL but I had to cover it up of course and I'd think of those 'paintings' being trapped in my finished paintings.

Really lovely work as usual.

Thank you Donna!

I'm just eager as to get these cycle of work complete, because I already have another planned. So I'm pushing my limits.

Oh, a link for your Singularity pieces please. =)

I did do a bit more digital work than I usually do this time around. I purchased a drawing tablet recently and needed an excuse to put it to work. The idea is to do more of preliminary sketching and colour digitally because have the ability to undo or copy speeds ups development phase. However, this is still just a guide and most of it will be worked out in paint.

I have to follow my whims

@donnadavisart, you nailed it! I dabble in painting, drawing, crochet, collage, writing - oh, everything that comes into my head at any given moment. Not one day is the same. And I love it that way. I practice all my different creative "inspirations" either in the guest room or the television room. Therefore, both rooms are a mess. My poor husband, he often complains about the fact that he has to stumble over crochet wool, paints and pens, half finished projects. But he has his quirks as well: at any given day he might be busy with harvesting honey from his one single beehive, or he might be busy boiling fruit for his next experiment with brewing for a batch of very strong and heady alcoholic beverage.

I am also now following you because all artists inspire me.

I'm sitting in corner and waiting :) Waiting..waiting @leoplaw

I hope you're comfortable with your favourite snacks and drinks. ;-)

awesome human figure, it looks so real and so emotional <3

Thank you @juandvg! I want them to live and breath for you.

Amazing work as always @Leoplaw and I love IAMX! thank you for sharing!

Thank you @ankapolo! I only recently discovered IAMX.

Lovely work. I wonder, is it deliberate that the female form is embracing being exposed to the light while the male figure appears to be trying to shield himself from it?

Hi Artkapture! There was no intent with regards to shunning or embracing light. Both of these paintings are studies for a larger work where the two will inhabit the same scene.

Thanks @leoplaw. Looking forward to seeing the completed works.

So am I! I have itchy fingers. =)

Best feeling in the world ;)

Indeed! =)

Great, I am looking forward to see the final one! Do you want to combine both? Make two paitings become one?

Hi Elaine! Yes that's it, after the two smaller works are finished, there is a larger work that will use the same two figures together. Thus the smaller works end up being studies.

Ahhhh okay, now I understand! I was wondering how you're going to get the two works together :)

Low light, candle lit dinner. ;-)

Wow, seems to become a sensual painting!

We'll see how they get along.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65180.67
ETH 2632.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84