Protection - the power of no

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Boundary setting is a tricky business. It is a hot topic these days, on a personal level and even up to nation states. One needs to be open enough to new ideas and experiences to go beyond your comfort zone to grow, yet there is also a point at which one has to say enough.

One agenda that is frequently pushed these days, is to be open, open, open, to all and everything, and it seems to be no matter the cost. Yet even our own bodies function in a way that they have limits, tolerances for certain organisms or substances, after which point, our body rejects it, the immune system kicks, and if overwhelmed, fall sick.

Yes, it can be beneficial to push the limits, test the boundaries of endurance. It is thus that athletes set new records, explorers make new discoveries, we even fly to the moon. But even the people engaged in these activities are aware of and take into account of the signals when the envelope is being pushed too far, lest an unrecoverable disaster beset them.

Our minds and emotional health are no different. There are times at which we need to say enough and walk away from certain people.

All in all experience and self awareness are crucial to the sustainability of self, whether it be an individual or society. No is just as valid as yes, it is just as beneficial. Yes can be just as detrimental as no. Just ask any person recovering from substance abuse.


I rather enjoyed working on this drawing. I think it very likely that I will work up a painting out of this. I had intended to paint it as a small format, but sitting here looking at it, ideas started to flow for making it just part of a larger composition in a narrative piece. Then again, I still could do both. The smaller work would become a study for the larger piece.

When I was spraying the drawing with the fixative, I couldn't resist photographing the process, as he seemed a bit reluctant to be covered in chemicals, even though it was for his own good. ;-)

figure, 34 x 24cm, pencil charcoal on paper

Please leave your thoughts and comments below. Upvote and Resteem if you like it.


More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

What an excellent set of important thoughts. So true. And a fantastic drawing. I love the metaphore of the finishing sealant. Good job!

beautiful work! feels so real and has strong energy...

Such a powerful and beautiful work of art. And the photo is excellent too! :-)

awesome good job!,upvoted! ^ ^

ill be happy if you would check my work of drawing ^ ^

https://steemit.com/@cuteve

Wow - fantastic - this is a Masterpiece of Art ...
voted and resteemed :-)

Thanking you most kindly. =)

Amazing work!

Thank you David!

You're welcome!

Great drawing @leoplaw, our body is not boundless and therefore you need to relax sometimes :)

Something that I constantly be aware of.

Hi Leo, great stuff! Also really cool that you included some text about the process and also gave us an ambience. Is that charcoal? I like the use of negative space in it! (through the canvas) It really makes me focus on the lines even more! Also, I just discovered your channel - I'm also involved in the art scene, kind of. However, I don't make beautiful drawings as you do 😉 But I'm trying to be helpful by publishing articles about artists, the art scene & a daily Dosis of inspiration and motivation 😇 Would love to have a chat with you and publish your wisdom or how you got into drawing for aspiring steemers and artists. Just send me a message or reply here if you're interested!

Hi and thank you Max!
Every once and while I post about my process. I like to keep a bit of variety in my content.
Yes, this is charcoal, but also pastel pencils on coloured paper/card 300 gsm. Sometimes I start with a very minimal grid of thirds, but I am also pushing myself just to work from sight. I am usually working from photo references, although tonight I'm off to life drawing.

Sure I'm up for a chat and sharing my thoughts. So here is your reply. ;-)

I'll shoot you a message later - keep me posted about your life drawing experience!

I did not go to life drawing tonight, not feeling the best. I'll be going next week.

Hope you're getting well soon! Was already excited about the result hahahah

I intend to go this Sunday. =)

Oh great, keep me updated!

This post has received a 1.53 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @trumpman. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98