Philosopher - sketch

in #art7 years ago

I had a busy day sketching yesterday, as I progressed further on the work in progress I posted previously. I have found a combination of pencils and tone paper that I quite like, they all harmonise well together.

But I've had enough of sketchpads for the moment, and with the last of the good weather before the cold and wet of Autumn set in, I'll be off outside for the rest of the day. So I'll leave you with this to enjoy, while I go and enjoy some sunshine. =)

"Philosopher", Leo Plaw, 34 x 24cm, oil on canvas

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.

More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

Really nice job Leo!!! I like it that you use the midtone paper.

Thank you @art-universe! It really makes a difference to the drawings. I find it hard to go back to white paper these days. I especially like the combination of colours in this drawing. I have block of paper, that comes in multiple colours.

Great skills - fantastic artwork :-)
resteemed

Thank you very much for the resteem @yoogyart! =)
I'd noticed before I found your comment.

Your works are moving forward @leoplaw and I hope you will please us :)

What? I'm not pleasing you yet? =)

Love it, Leo! Is this one planned to be transferred to a painting, too?

I think there is an intent to do so. Watch this space... =)
But I might do a few things in between first.

I like it already!

Amazing work! You are very good at drawing of human bodies!!

Thank you @olgy-art, I'm working on it. ;-)

awesome ! ( as usual ) :-)

I am happy to hear that you like it Agnes. =)

You did an amazing work! You are so talented, I wish I can get at this level someday! ❀

Thank you Ophelia!

I have to admit talent is nothing without practice. It wasn't until recently that I truly understood that. When I did, then, and only then did I start to improve my work. Another artist, a friend of mine, wrote an excellent article on this issue, detailing his journey. Have a read. He has explained it so simply and in an entertaining manner.

https://wowxwow.com/guest-blog/mateo-dineen-gb

That's amazing! His thinking is so well outlined in his hands! Making assumptions and trying to figure the answers. It's really remarkable how you can communicate this feelings without giving us his face!

Enjoy the last doses of good weather... that's what we all do!

Thank you for your comments and observations. Yes, after the face, the hands are where we look to next for communication. There is reason for this. The hands are so expressive because of the high density of nerves.

Pumpkin soup is in order for cooler weather when it comes. Until then, figs!!!

Really gorgeous! Looking forward to seeing more of your art here.

Thank you Aruna! =)
I aim to post regularly. My priority of course is creating new artwork, but when it is complete, Steemit is one of the first places I present it. I also have more of an opportunity to express my thoughts here than I do on other social media networks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57