It's Black and White

in #art5 years ago

4


After landscapes, I've moved on to some more graphical work. I haven't worked in ink and line work of a while. the white highlights are acrylic. The image is more or less a study of a portion of one of Gustav Dore's famous "Inferno" series. I've always been fascinated by this body of work. There's a very good chance I may interpret some of these in paint.


34 x 24cm, acrylic and ink on paper    

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.  
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter


Sort:  

nice work :) Cheers :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I love Gustave Dore's work, his style and works are so distinct and atmospheric :) I think you captured the feel very nicely, there is something gothic in this, for sure <3 Love how you used the acrylic white highlights, very good contour and drama <3

some of it ink wash? - a sumi brush is really good for that - treat it like a watercolor, slightly dampen the paper first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36