Charon - the Ferryman

in #art4 years ago

IMG_6484-steemit.jpg

I am working on series of paintings exploring the Underworld. I find the mythology very rich in images and symbols. I'll be calling on references from many different places.

This painting is a study for a larger work. This painting represents a smaller part of whole image. Taking this approach, I can test out elements without committing to the whole.

Stay tuned for the full story / painting / image.

IMG_6484-xswm.jpg

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

woah. this is superb, cant wait to see the full series!

Cheers Basil! I'm eager also, but will have to pace it because some of the images are complex and need to be planned out in detail.

Got a bit hot after a while did he XD

I'm trying to work out if the cloak thing is a shroud with an invisible ghosty thing inside or if it's Charon's cloak that he's dumped over the prow of the boat and it just happened to fall that way.

I swear your "studies" are just smaller paintings than what you usually do XP

He he... I'll leave you wondering about the cloak / shrouds. ;-)

Yes, my "studies" are smaller paintings... it allows me the excuse to paint the theme again on a grander scale. I get more bucks for my bang out of an image concept. =D

Your works are like a praise for human anatomy. Always so full if depth and tension, kudos.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers @longer. Yes we communicate with words and symbols, but our bodies were our first medium of communication, but most of us overlook it.

That's so undeniably true. Thank you for that thought

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39