Achieving your Goals

in #art7 years ago

What are your goals? How do you achieve them? Long term or short term?

On Steemit, I have seen people have goals orientated around getting rich (usually newbies), others to become Steem witnesses, others a certain number of subscribers. Some are more socially minded, and rather than seeing numbers, want to build an audience, implying they want to interact with people.

Having a goal, implies having direction. Navigating, or orienteering requires at least three things, the previous or starting point, the current location and the destination. That means, knowing where you've come from, where you are and where you are going to. If you don't have this overview, you end up lost.

The above applies for your life, career, or any activity where you have desired outcome. So firstly you have to know your desire. Is it really what you want? If not, you're going to be struggling with finding the motivation when things get tough.

There is a tendency with New Age speak these days, to say one is being guided. Rather more often than not, it is a misguided belief, that planning is bad and the spontaneity of life will do all of the hard work for you to end up at the right place. Granted synchronicity does happen, but if one is aware of their desires, they then more easily recognise opportunity when it presents itself. For some people, life is something that happens to them, while others make their life happen.

For me, the following quote sums it nicely.

"Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity." - Seneca, Roman philosopher

For, I have to admit, there have been many times in my life when lucky opportunity has come a knocking, but, I was unprepared, and I lost the chance. Oh, but the times when you have what you need, ready and on hand, ah, so sweet is the ease of moving ahead towards your goal.

So when you know your desire (thoroughly), have a plan, have made preparations and willing to stay the course, great things can be achieved. Note that last part, stay the course. That implies, time. Yes, some, if not many things in life take time; a point that is somewhat neglected in today's culture of instant gratification.

But because things do take time, that's why we need to periodically, pause and examine our plan, look back (reflect upon) our starting point, consider where we are now, take a breath, let it go, look around and at ourselves, and then look ahead to the goal. Are we still on course? Are will still in harmony with our desire? 

If yes, then we should still find ourselves with the energy to continue. If no, then something is amiss and we need to examine everything from the start again.


What are some of your personal habits or tools that you use to keep you on target for achieving your goals?


hand study, Leo Plaw, 24 x 34cm, pencil on paper

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

My desire is to influence people to come to this site and getaway from sites like fb and so that they cab have control. Thanks for the great post

the comment is grate because , I suppose many relate in regret for the lost time on other social media platforms . therefor many votes for you @jon24jon24

I have to ask, who pointed all of the voting bots at your comment?

That im not sure. It happened twice. But the resto of my other comments...none

Beautiful post and beautiful art.

There is a tendency with New Age speak these days, to say one is being guided. Rather more often than not, it is a misguided belief, that planning is bad and the spontaneity of life will do all of the hard work for you to end up at the right place. Granted synchronicity does happen, but if one is aware of their desires, they then more easily recognise opportunity when it presents itself. For some people, life is something that happens to them, while others make their life happen.

Very well put. Although I believe that the New Age thought didn't mean that we shouldn't work for our goals, yet people may misunderstand it (sometimes in purpose) to stop working hard.

When we are aware of our desires and goals, we will be more vigilant of the guidance of the Universe and thus we will be recognize and catch opportunities more easily.

I believe we are being constantly guided in our lives because we are born to reach a destination. However, depending where we look (at our feet or the horizon) life will happen to us or we make it happen.

Thank you for sharing :)

Hi @theleapingkoala! Yes, while the original thought may maybe so not intended that "we shouldn't work for our goals", yet, that sphere is so dominated by snake oil salesmen (and women) who prey upon weaker people's natures to turn a profit.

Indeed, we are guided, but for that as I wrote, we must truly know our Desire, and that is not the voice in our head, nor our compulsions, it is that thing that moves us, which in of itself is an inner stillness.

Yes, feet or the horizon, there between lies our will. =)

love the artwork and it introduces the article perfectly. Very educational and inspiring post .

Cheers Alexandra! Glad you like it. =)

This is so true. Everything needs dedication and patience and it's nothing to do with nature, you have to nurture it to build it in your self like a structure, like everything else. People are so impatient and ungrateful, I see this every day, everywhere around me, even in me sometimes. Acting like a kid that his parent (life) is not going to get him an icecream. The grind is important cause it teaches, teaches even after the wounds are healed. I see the word "humble" so much these days, and there is a reason, we have to be humble in order to grow, and we are not going to, if we don't put our head in order, we have to learn how to clean and get our rooms in order before we go out and try to change the world. Prof. Jordan Peterson actually said these words in one of his lections about self- development. It's true, everything is time-consuming and we have to spend that time. It's like geometric progression. Small steps are needed in order to reach the goal...
There is no need to comment the art at all, it's epic!
Cheers!

@svdsdragunov thank you for the great response. =)
It is only the recent couple of years that I found patience with the progression in my artwork. I absolutely agree on the analogy of cleaning and ordering our head space. Indeed, step by step... the path to success is an unending journey of many steps.

And the things are moving faster and faster with time. For me is really hard to stay on the page 'till the end, impatience is chronic, I fight it all the time. What is helping me is surrounding myself with people that are better than me and that expand my threshold. When i see what is possible with patience i push my self. I'm not talking about motivation, I'm talking about consistency. Otherwise, the chaos consumes all the energy that could be channeled and used for improving. Nurturing is a hard process... I find myself failing on daily basis and i know that. Many of my friends have surrendered themselves to life and when i look at them i feel like they have no goals at all. just passing through the day. And this is putting me down. But therefore i see people like you and others that understand what should be done, even if we don't know exactly how to do it, we have the idea that something is not right and we should get things done in order to go forward... We develop ourselves into machines, that ignore the daily distractions and reach whatever our goals are, and then set a new ones.

Mentors and role models are important, along with a motivated circle of peers to cheer you on or set you straight.

Yep, and I'm glad that i have an account here so i can talk to people like you, cause it's epic... i mean it fuels me up. You know what i'm talking about.

There's a great community on Steemit. =)

Beautiful artwork and beautifully written! I like making lists and writing goals down for both short and long term so you can check in to see the progress! Applies to a lot of stuff in life. I've wrote down my pole goals for the year back in Jan 😄

I often keep many of my old lists. It is a refresher to see the things I did manage to do and the ones that fell by the wayside.
How often are you doing your reviews?

Every couple of months for my yearly pole goals! I've knocked about 2/3 of the tricks off haha

Are you on target for 100% ?

What are some of your personal habits or tools that you use to keep you on target for achieving your goals?

I guess I am oldschool, just a small notepad I always carry with me and a pencil.

I keep a note pad for my running todo list, but use Xmind, a mind mapper to organise things longer term. I also have a calendar app on my phone that syncs with over Google Calendars as does all of my other software.

The old school paper and crossing things off the list is so satisfying. =)

True it's so satosfactory crossing things out of the list. Nothing can beat that 😁😁😁😁😁

This post received a 20% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @scooter77 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

good job!
僕も手を描くのは好きだよ。

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64