My Hand-Made Dreadlock Beads!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I made a ton of beads for my dreads.


I wanted to share some of the beads I have made with you guys. They are all made out of polymer clay which is baked in the oven to harden. It is a very relaxing hobby to make small trinkets out of clay. :)

This one is my favorite!

It looks pretty simple but was actually really time-consuming to make which was fine by me because it was calming. Each ball after being pressed on had to have a hole poked into it. It is worth noting this bead is not entirely structurally sound. I plan to put it on when I go out and take it off at night because it can crack if too much pressure is put on it.

Here is the whole lot of beads I have made, most of them yesterday:

I lost a few of my colors but I plan to dig around and find some more and probably paint some beads to be any color I want. I will likely post them later this evening or tomorrow. I still have many unornamented dreadlocks.

Here they are in my hair!

After taking that photo I tried to clean up some of the new growth and ordered a crochet hook so I can do some maintenance.

They clearly need to be tightened, cleaned up, and redyed soon but I sure love em. I let them form naturally by simply not brushing my hair and separating them so they don't become hobo style one matted lock. I do wash them all the time. Clean hair actually dreads faster as grease inhibits the movement. I also didn't use beeswax or anything because you can never get that out and it can cause gross stuff to get trapped in your dreads and even can cause a greater likelihood to get mildew. My last set of dreads when I cut them off were clean as a whistle all the way through and I have no doubt these ones are too. I do however use soaps that won't leave residue and don't condition the way normal hair is conditioned. I used ACV/water and occasionally do a deep-cleaning.



Get these badges I made here.


HTML tutorial

Sort:  

I saw some of these on FB and I love them! It's very creative and honestly, I've never seen beads like this for dreadlocks.

Thanks. :D I love making them myself because they can be really colorful and wild. ^_^

Looks awesome, your favorite reminds me of the Tentacles, from Maniac Mansion & Day of the Tentacle adventure games ! <3 <3 <3

These beads are very expressive and creative. I love the colors and textures! There are more and more levels to your abilities. Thanx

OOO how clever and fun! Beautiful​ work!

Thanks. :D It is very fun. Today I am making a few more beads and flared plugs for my ears because I lost the ones I bought!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56