How I've been feeling- A contest entry

in #art6 years ago

Hello everyone!

No bombshell drawing today sadly because I gotta work tonight and yesterday I was just bogged down by depression and didn't want to do a damn thing. Lol. Then I saw an art contest posted here by @marty-arts so I figured I'd draw something up quick as an entry. The theme is body so I decided to draw up something that embodied how I've been feeling lately.

IMG_5680.JPG

I suppose it has a slight self resemblance. Lol. What do you think?

I also have a few process drawings so you all can see my steps and honestly I should've saved one more step picture before the finished project but.. ah well. :(

IMG_5681.JPG
First I start off with a simple sketch. Usually I draw this a couple times, the first round is really sketchy and horrible and then I go over it again with cleaner lines. Lol.

IMG_5682.JPG
And then I lay down some flat colour, kind of a middle ground hue so shadows and highlights can be used later and usually I use a less saturated tone. Once that's done I slap down some messy shadow spots using a hard brush which I blend out with a softer brush later.

IMG_5683.JPG
And then I lay down some highlights! I wanted to use a different colour palette with this one using cool and warm tones. Same general principle. Using the hard brush and then blending it out with a soft brush.

Now I should've added one more process pic but alas I did not. But from there I do the hair with the same basic idea and then I mess around with hues and saturation and contrast and brightness until I get the general effect I like.

As you can tell I don't do step by step tutorials very often and I really should!

Anyways, enjoy and as always feedback is appreciated!

Until next time!

-Chelsea

Sort:  

beautiful! thank you for your entry :)

Wow that's dark. Still enjoyed reading and I like how you explain your process. Thanks!

No problem! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Beautiful and sad. Embodiment of emptiness.

Yeah. That's pretty much been it. I'm glad I was able to capture that emotion in my drawing.

Thank you for sharing. I can relate. I've felt similarly in the last couple days. My last few postings reflect as much.

I was literally in that same pose this morning on my kitchen floor, struggling to make sense of it all. You must have read my mind.

Thanks again for your post. You are a very talented artist and a special person as well. :)

Thank you so much! I'm sorry you were feeling that way too. It's not a good feeling. Some days are better than others but just yesterday for sure I was feeling just like this. But drawing helps me feel better when I force myself to do it. Lol.

No doubt. For me writing my thoughts as poems and just being around my kids help me out. :)

Hi @ladymaharet, sorry to hear that you are feeling a touch of the blues... I feel like your drawing is conjuring images of @vermillionfox's blue and red sketches but the feeling is very genuine. I get so much inspiration from all the artists here on Steemit, so please know that we all get a lot of inspiration from your work... especially during the tough times :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13