Camila’s portrait (a first post about painting and drawing). [English version]

in #art7 years ago (edited)

[This is a translation from a previous post of mine hosted here]

This is an unfinished work, it’s a portrait performed following the aesthetics from the art-nouveau style.
I don’t think it will be completely finished some day but that’s something that happens very often with my work projects, there's something more to do, always...


Watch-me (Portrait)
Dimensions – 39.3” X 27,5”
Vinyl base paint and permanent markers on paper

I’ve tried to make this painting using easy to find and cheap materials: because of that I chose the vinyl base paint and the paper as a painting ground… When teaching at my workplace, I oftentimes meet with people who have very few resources, and for whom isn’t possible to buy more specialized artistic supplies (and also more expensive ones); as an experiment this has taught me to focus the efforts in how to achieve the color mixtures, in the composition matters and in the performing problems (brush-strokes, textures, brightness, contrast…). Avoiding the use of “specialized” materials and instruments has also led me to find ways to enable everybody to do art work, no matter any social or economic obstacle.

Although I don't usually do it, in this case I have kept a photographic record of the image's process, from the starting moment of the drawing (a sketch included) till the point it has been shown.


1 - The starting moment: sketching.

Cam1.jpgCam2.jpg

2 - Firsts stages of the painting

Cam3.jpgCam4.jpg

3 - Art-nouveau ambience: it was hard... And a watch-ing machine? Still thinking about it

Cam5.jpgCam6.jpg

4 - The sheet: I can't get no satisfaction, and I try... and I try

Cam7.jpg

5 - The light dressing: Instructions on how to wear a beauty naked

6 - She: here's a link to her Ig profile @mzcamilamontoya from where I took her picture (with her authorization, of course) if you want to go and watch-her

2017-09-15-001843.jpg
And finally - Here's a picture of me holding the portrait, as you can see it's a kind of big format

About the model:
Camila is a trans-gender model currently living in San Francisco (Ca.) nonetheless she was born in Medellin (Colombia). When I first saw her (through their photos in the web) I was really shocked because of her beauty and because of the truth of her femininity. I came to think that she was even more feminine than many of the women whom I've could seen thus far, anywhere, and that made me think about what’s femininity (or what could be) and about the facts which unchains the attraction. Let me to get clear something here, I'm not a gay person, so it was really strange for me to think about this whole matter, that much that I couldn’t left pass the opportunity to paint her.

Well, that's all for now, I hope you've enjoyed it and thanks for read my posting thread.
I'm sorry about all the writing, grammar and idioms mistakes you could have found out in this post, I'm just learning this language, thanks again.

Sort:  

Great job! And I too, are shocked, after when I read about the model!

Almost incredible. Thanks for your comment.

Very good post , Love it !!! ^ ^Upvoted and follow !!

You are more then Welcome to visit My Page its about {Art and Drawing to 😊}

Thanks Eve! I'm glad you've liked it.
I'll be more than pleased of visiting your page and following you. I see very good things in your thread ;)

Thank you ^ ^
Glad to meet you 😊😊

Very good post . Thankyou for sharing
upvoted and followed you . please follow me

Congratulations @laberinto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57711.87
ETH 3013.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35