Bulgarian Sculpture - Possibly first in a series, with commentary and story

in #art8 years ago

I have had the fortune to be able to see a lot of examples of Bulgarian sculptural art, and there is a lot of favourites of mine from Sofia, but I am in Plovdiv now, and there is plenty around, so this morning I spent some time capturing some from mostly Garden of Tsar Simeon ( http://www.visitplovdiv.com/en/node/3118 ).

There is not really much in the way of examples of communist era stuff here, but some I got certainly seem to be in this category stylistically speaking. The garden was built in the late 19th century, so this should not be a surprise. I am quite sure that many of the pieces do not date back to then, however.

A sculpture, but a tribute to a hero of the revolution that led to modern Bulgaria's current independence, Hristo Botev. The text says 'He never dies' (Toy ne umira).

This plaque from beside it has english text that you can read that talks about him.

In Sofia, between the National Assembly and Sofia University there is a sculpture similar to this one, but not made in bronze.

This is more in the modernist style, of which a lot was made during the communist era. You can see that it is a representation of a human hand.

This one is probably even more modern, but I could be wrong. There is a certain style of Bulgarian sculpture which is very abstract. I can only guess that this one is an allusion to the industrial world of today.

Modern Bulgarian sculpture, both communist era and since, has a very dark feeling about it, even magical.

This one I think captures the magick more so than the darkness, yet I think it probably represents a root growing into the ground, rather than a drill. Or something like a tornado.

This one, you can tell, is modern, but it apes the style of Classical era sculpture, but deliberately is very rough.

The two above are examples of more modern, abstract sculpture, just a play on geometry and spaces. These are not exceptional pieces but they are very nice to look at.

This is a sculpture out the front of I think some kind of theatre. I forgot to remember which. This is a very good example of communist era Bulgarian sculpture, with its combination of dark mood, abstraction, and representation. The face represented is that of a famous opera singer by the name of - well, I did manage to catch the english translated plaque underneath - Boris Hristov.

In Garden of Tsar Simeon, according to this sign, dogs are banned. Well, they aren't, if you have them under control, and actually, nobody pays attention to this in fact. However, the parks are absolutely full of cats. I hope sometime to be able to do a series of photos of cats but they can be difficult to catch with a slow photo taking device like a mobile phone.

I am not absolutely certain whether this is ancient, or relatively modern, but it certainly appears to be done in the style of ancient Rome. I would guess it is modern, since the park was only built in the late 1800s. There is a ginormous sculpture up the top of the hill just behind where this is located, and I am sure there is more sculpture for me to see if I walk around the other sides of the hill.

This was the exact place I slept last night, below the rock wall I just showed you. It was ok, I went down only about 2 hours after dark, but once it got to about 5:30am it was too cold for me to be able to resume sleeping, so I got up, and that was when I decided to start making the pictures for this post.

Here is another shot of the same stonework perhaps a little better framed.

Off in the distance, this is just up a path beside the rock wall above, is Mladeshki Hulm, the location I took photos of yesterday.

This is some more, naturalistic abstract sculpture that is in a style that is uniquely Bulgarian. It is clearly a representation of mother and child.

I don't think there was a plaque explaining this one, but it is a traditional Bulgarian violin he is playing, this instrument has a very grating, sharp sound, with metal strings, I once saw one being played in the Tsentralna Gara Sofia by a busker.

This is not sculpture, but a mosaic, and is typical of the Communist era. There is walls decorated similar to this in Sofia also. This one is a mosaic, though, not a relief sculpture as one notable one I know of from Sofia. This mosaic bears the names of this city, (Plovdiv) and Leningrad (St Petersburg).

This is clearly a relatively modern brass sculpture, sitting on the edge of what is clearly a fairly new piece of garden terrace edging. You probably don't recognise it unless you have been to Bulgaria, but this is typical of Bulgarian Gypsies, with the big ears and rough clothes, this one clearly is representative of a Gypsy from possibly the early 20th century or late 19th.

I undoubtedly will post more about sculptures I see, but today, you got to see some of the ones you can find in Garden of Tsar Simeon. I will eventually climb the mountain beside it, and show you that giant sculpture up close.

Sort:  

Those "modernist communist sculptures" are the work of lazy ass authors, whose main line of work was actually getting drunk and having sex with colleagues from other communist block counties, on government funded art retreats. So what you're looking at is the best they could do with a heavy hangover - you can very well imagine that a severe headache doesn't go well with hours of rock pounding.

Upvoted and reblogged!

Thanks for sharing images from a part of the world I probably will never visit. Seems like a huge area with an interesting old history. Keep us posted!

Yeah, Plovdiv is constantly blowing my mind, at every turn. If you happen to be in Eastern Europe, this is one city you really should not miss, especially if you like hills and taking photos of vast vistas of urban developments.

I can imagine it is amazing. If I'd have the chance I will do visit. Never knew it excisted before your posts.

Now it's on my list of places I would like to visit. Together with Vienna, Troye, Prague and so on.

Plovdiv deserves to be amongst cities like Rome and Athens for places to visit for antiquities. The people are very friendly too. It is not the oldest, but I think it is one of the oldest that has been continuously occupied by human settlement for around 7000 years. correction 5000: see below:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plovdiv

Plovdiv has evidence of habitation since the 6th millennium BC when the first Neolithic settlements were established. The city is continuously inhabited since 4000 BC raking it among world's oldest continuously inhabited cities.

Той не умира

Russian letters,it s bulgarian language?

Yes, maybe it is not well known in Russia (I am guessing you are Russian) but Cyrillic originated in Bulgaria. I immediately recognised this since I was fascinated by ancient greek script due to its' wide use in mathematics.

I am guessing that this also is almost identical in Russian, since it uses old words and words that I already knew were common between the languages. Russian and Bulgarian share a lot of the most commonly used words. Personal pronouns, forms of the verb to be, and so on. When spoken, the similarities are hard to miss also, although in Bulgarian it is said 'Zashto', but generally it sounds the same way as the russian with a hard start to the SH sound like transliterated into english 'Shto'.

I'm afraid to see the statue :(

I think you mean the gypsy? It's funny because when I first arrived at the open prison, after my trial and the sentence was given, there was this 5 foot tall guy who looked just like a young version of that gypsy statue, and he asked me if I wanted to buy heroin... I am not a big fan of gypsies, and even more so after being locked in the same block with almost exclusively gypsies. The irony was that most of them had money coming from their families, but I had absolutely none, and they were finding ways to hustle other kinds of energy out of me. This constant hustle is why I don't like gypsies, and I have not met one who doesn't try it out when they see an opportunity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64273.56
ETH 3487.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52