The Old Dog Presents: Your Official Art Exhibit of Manhole Covers!

in #art7 years ago

Hey friends, great news! We now have an art exhibit of the world's best manhole covers and it is a thing of BEAUTY!!!!

Those manhole covers look soooo good and are worthy pieces of art!

Where is The Art Exhibit?

Why in cyberspace of course...... but still, it's way cool! I was looking around for a place to showcase all of your wonderful submissions to my contest and it turns out there are many options for online Museums and Art exhibits!

I settled on one at www.artsteps.com because I could try it out for free.

Check Out How Great it Looks And Learn Who Won The 10 SBD Prize!

In my previous post on this subject "The Old Dog Discovers: Man Hole Covers as Art!"  I presented manhole covers as art and asked you to send me the beauties that you had seen! Your response led to our beautiful exhibit at ArtSteps!


Do you like the natural lighting? Me too!


Manhole covers as art. Yes indeed this is working out just fine!


You guys sent in some fabulous pieces of art!


Are you sure that these are manholes? Yes indeed I am!


The one on the left is one of mine and it's my only one in the gallery. The rest are all yours!

Would You Like to Have a Walk Around Inside The Gallery?

Come on....let's go. I'll give you the guided tour!

Note: I uploaded here instead of DTube this time but I'll use DTube again....it's great!


So With All of Those Beautiful Manhole Covers Who's The Winner?

Well I have to admit that the colored ones from Japan are amazing but I was looking for the quality of the foundry work, the surrounding road material and for that certain "je ne sais quoi"

Therefore the grand winner is: 


This elegant piece was submitted by @livelifefullest and so Martin from the Netherlands will have 10 SBD transferred to his account. Way to go Martin!


Let's Have a Look at Some Manhole Cover Art Hung in My Home!


I'm sick of this water color above our fireplace! Let's Have some Manhole Cover art!


Hey wow! That looks fantastic!


Do you like it? Looks like we've got a future in art fellow Steemers!

A Little Bit About Virtual Galleries

I found the gallery at Artsteps easy to use. I got the free package with which I can have one exhibit with a total of just 30 objects. I am also restricted from inviting anyone to go to our gallery using a link. In other words it is just to try it out! 

There are many options for room sizes, configurations, number of rooms, flooring etc... If you're an artist you may want to explore this further.

What Do You Think?

  • Are you surprised at how great our gallery and its pieces look?
  • If you're an artist are you interested in virtual galleries?
  • What other mundane object would you like to see us explore as art? Give me some ideas and we'll have another contest!


I hope that you enjoyed this article about "Your Official Art Exhibit of Manhole Covers!"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, if you upvote my post and leave a comment I will do my best to upvote it with some of my 41,000 plus Steem Power! 

Sort:  

It's amazing what you can use to produce art!

Yes. Amazing phografy by @kus-knee

Amazing....I especially love the art work over the fireplace ...what a difference....time for a change ,me thinks....

That was a lot of fun and I'm looking forward to trying out more mundane objects as art!

It was an honour for me to pay a visit to world's first manhole art exhibition. With such beautiful art hanging on the walls, it's hard to tell that these are all manhole covers!

Yes seriously, manhole cover looks better than the water colored frame.
I think you struck a novel idea of a manhole art gallery. Who knows, it could inspire the next trend in art galleries and may be even in auction houses for the real, antique manhole covers. Let's start preserving those wonderful pieces as collectibles.

Thanks so much for having a look. My natural curiosity leads to a lot of discovery and fun!

Wow man, some of the things that you find!

Well, I don't have as many creatures here and I'm afraid of some of them anyway. :( SNAKES!

Wow!
I have never seen or heard of this kind of art!
I am actually REALLY loving it!
You sure do like the arts. I have seen you go to so many concerts and exhibits. Thanks for sharing the adventures with us here on Steemit!
SteemON!

You're right ! I try my best to look for the beauty in people, nature and objects. You sure are providing lots of that @quinneaker!

Awwwww Shucks......
;-)>

thanks for saying so @kus-knee i'm following you both now :)

Yea you gotta follow the adventures of The Old Dog!

The lighting in the "outside gallery" gave the subject so much vigour... A great surprise to my eyes and a delight to my mind. Thanks for sharing and namaste :)

Wow @eric-boucher! I've been missing you!

Same here! It has been too long and I'm coming back on track, as we say. It feels good to be back too! Namaste :)

That's really awesome... love your exhibit!

Actually, this is a really timely post... been working on more creative ways to market our art gallery, and these "virtual galleries" sound like they could be a really useful tool to supplement our web site. I know it would be "for pay" but as log as it were not too costly, it might still be worthwhile.

I appreciate the introduction to the concept!

Thanks so much! I was thinking of having your gallery host my exhibit but then I found this one! :)

Kidding aside, there are many out there and I didn't investigate price but just wanted something easy and free. It only took me about 30 minutes to make the display but it's just for 7 days. That's why I took screen shots and did a screen cap video!

Wooww its an awsome post!!! You know already how i love art! Thanks a lot for sharing!

These pictures are very well fit into the interior of your room. I liked the manhole cover that you chose as the winner. I liked also the green one made in japan style ( with sakura and house). These two are just amazing!

You gave me a lot of inspiration with your post!
My Muse will be out of work cos of you lol.

I'm happy that you are inspired. I'm sure that you have a lot to show here on Steemit!

These manholes covers art are really looking fantastic and reminding me of an exhibition which attended in 2016 where simillar kind of art work was displayed...

Very nice post...steem on and stay blissful...

Thanks so much for having a look. This post was a lot of fun and curiosity has led us to some interesting places. Welcome to Steemit by the way. I see that you already have an amazing number of followers! All the best!

Yes ...thank you so much sir for your nicest gesture....when a minnow like me gets a reply from a person of your stature...it feels like motivated and inspired...steem on...stay blissful...

they are amazing. I'd put them in the category "Involontary Street Art" ;)

Hey Paolo, you ARE THE ARTIST! Have you ever tried a virtual gallery?

not really. not a 3D virtual space. I saw many of them, expecially in museums website, but not tried it myself.
It could be interesting. I loved the 3D ambient even before Internet (and they were very low res!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34