The Old Dog Discusses: A Benchmark For Benches!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The lowly bench. Is it just a slab to sit on or can it be an expression of art? Let's explore this topic together.

A Sleek Design That I Happened Upon Last Week

Last week while strolling along the lake of Lugano in Melide @lellabird60 and I came across this design which caught my eye. I found it sleek and interesting to look at.


The bend of the seat of the bench as it turns into the back of the bench on the opposite side adds interest.


As you look at the bench from this angle you can better see the interesting pattern that forms.


Here is another look at the design from the side.


Here is one last look at this elegant design.


Here is Another Design From The Same Lakeside Promenade

This design is almost the opposite of the first one that I featured. Rather than being light and airy it's made of heavy poured concrete and doesn't have a back rest. It's dramatic angles and sculptural qualities make it an attractive alternative.


This bench design is stunning in its simplicity and its material picks up on the concrete found in the joints between the granite paving slabs.


Here Are Some More Typical Bench Designs


These designs are perhaps more what we're used to seeing. Taken from pixabay.com


Show Me Some of Your Favorite Bench Designs


  • Have you seen some benches that would fit the category of art or sculpture?
  • Would you like to share some pictures with me?


Until next time,  

  
@kus-knee (The Old Dog) 

Let's Succeed Together

Sort:  

Wow.
But I like those classic ones still.

I much prefer the metal bench to the concrete one @kus-knee. I love how much thought has gone into the design and how it looks different depending upon the angle you are viewing it from.

I couldn't find any benches that would fit the category art or sculpture but I found this one which I thought was pretty interesting.

buried bench.jpg

This was after a particularly high tide and wild storm. It is common for the pebbles to be thrown up on the promenade in winter but I have never before or since, seen the benches buried.

Actually, if you removed this and put it in the Tate Modern Art Gallery in London and called it 'Buried Bench' it would probably worth a small fortune! 😂

Yes, displaying it as buried bench would create quite a stir!

Glad to see your after ling time.Very interesting post.First time i see this type banch.Really very attractive shape of this benches.Very impressive design.Everyone like this great banches.This banches fit your body.Beautifully working.and hard working.Thanks for sharing this great post.Global-Garden-Bench-Market.jpgdownloadfile.jpgmodern-patio.jpg.These banches are my favourite banches.

Thanks for the fine examples!

Here is a creative bench in Helsinki
IMG_20160625_213408.jpg

I have not seen anything like it anywhere else. :)

Not as cool as yours, but kids loves these dinosaur benches.
Hey @kus-knee I have an idea for a future mundane art theme. CAVES!!! DSC_6111.JPG

Yes, kids would love that. Thanks for the Mundane Art idea as well!

@ kus-knee with that beautiful view you could not expect anything else, they are a true work of art. however with my family we prefer banks that are like this
thank you very much for letting us know this beautiful place
I wish you a prosperous week

Thanks so much my friend.

It's a fine place for a bench, what a view!

Indeed!

is it a contest? The bench is in the first picture amazed me! awesome work.

It’s not officially a contest but I like giving out rewards.

and i love to win reward ;)

Well, I found very special benches for you! Not classic ones but look like huge pebbles. I don't know the material, maybe some kind of plastic or synthetic resin. They can be found in Székesfehérvár and even in Budapest.

P1120455.JPG

Very nice, so smooth!

El primero me encanta! Interesante el diseño, eso es arte. Saludos :)

Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28