🐎 I Had Dreams Of A Unicorn But Ended Up With A Sheep... 🐑

in #art7 years ago

As most of you know I am still rather new at this whole 3D Pen art, in fact this was my third attempt at creating anything specific in mind.

Now I put out the question what should I do next? I had several different responses and one of those was a unicorn, so I set out to give it a go - and well the results were not quite as I had expected but I'm actually rather happy with the end result.

sheep1.png

So the whole project started rather simply, for the first time I tried to build it up without a massive support structure - thanks to the strength of the ABS I now use.

sheep4.jpg

With the additional strength I was able to start with a hollow structure and build things up from a frame, whilst I wasn't able to get photos this all started like drawing a circle on the page and then layering up.

sheep5.jpg

By this stage I was starting to build up the body length and begin it's legs, I wanted the legs in so I could build up support around their joints to stave off any possible weak points.

sheep6.jpg

Here he finally gets all four legs and I start to realise he's a bit more round than I had intended him to be, but I figured I could just layer over things to regain the shape I wanted.

sheep8.jpg

I began to build up the base of the neck and chest areas, at this stage a unicorn was still a possibility by the signs of change were coming.

sheep7.jpg

I still foolishly believed a unicorn was coming, but I still hadn't created the butt or the head at this stage so that's when things really started to turn around.

sheep9.jpg

Unfortunately I got distracted by how harshly my objective was changing and morphing, before my eyes and I failed to take enough photos of this part of the process - but as you can see by the next image, I now knew my unicorn had it's own dreams of being a sheep.

sheep10.jpg

Even though he still didn't even have a butt yet, he knew and I knew his unicorn days were over...

sheep11.jpg

But life as a sheep isn't so bad, especially since when I stopped trying to force him to be the unicorn he could never be - he became a pretty awesome little sheep, which just so happens to be my autistic sons favorite animal.

sheep12.jpg

With his butt now intact, it was time to give him a head - or at least to try too.

sheep13.jpg

In the photo below I started to build up the head, this got very fiddly and I soon realised I couldn't take many photos or it would be ruined - this stuff sets really fast, so if you stuff up you only have a few seconds to fix it or keep adding heat and layers but this gets risky.

sheep15.jpg

Here as you can see compared to the above pic where his butt is well formed but the front is narrowed, I spent an insane amount of time building up the front to achieve the perfect rounded look of a sheep.

sheep14.jpg

Again this was a really difficult area so I don't have anymore pictures showing the forming of the head, it took way longer than it probably should have but in the end I think his head looks pretty close to perfect.

sheep16.jpg

So without further delay, here is my unicorn-sheep.

I am really happy with the amount of detail I managed to get into the head, it was incredibly fiddly work but I am happy with the ears and the wool build up around the head in general.

sheep2.jpg

I think in the end I got his proportions rather well, not too much butt with a realistic coat of wool hanging from the chest.

sheep3.jpg

Anyway I look at it I'm pretty stoked, because my 6 year old non verbal autistic son saw the finished product and started yelling Sheep, Sheep, Sheep. with utter enthusiasm to me this was a massive success.

sheep1.png

I couldn't be happier with my little sheep, who now might as well be Kai's little sheep - as always it's been a learning process but I think I made the right choice by allowing the unicorn to become the sheep he always wanted to be.

When have you turned a fail into a win?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort:  

Your getting pretty good with your 3d pen, great effort. Cheers

Cheers, I've been practising :)

Thanks for sharing! Upvoted. What a cool process. When it's done is it durable enough to be a child's toy? Great work!

No worries thanks for the comment, yeah the ABS (plastic) that comes out of the pen is only soft for a moment when using the pen then the whole thing solidifies almost instantly - it can get a bit intense if you stuff up.

The sheep is amazingly strong, absolutely no flex when squeezing (even though it's hollow) my big worry is if he smashes it on the tiles that might break it - but I think it may hold up a lot better than most of my kids toys.

Their toys are all chewed and ripped apart, hell the kids bit a hole in the couch so even furniture isn't up to their durability tests - I shall see if the sheep survives :)

Haha, expecting my first this October, a boy. Can't wait for the fun things we will experience as a parent!

Wow congratulations, it will be a wild ride - no matter how exhausting make the most of it, they get so big so fast :)

Hahah what an enjoyable read. I believe theres a life lesson in there - Dont try to be anything else other than what you are on the inside.

As much as we wanted a Unicorn, this was a Sheep through and through and it turned out beautifully with the right amount of bum on it.

When have I turned a fail into a win?
Every day Im alive babe.

Lmao ohh to true I know that feeling, thanks so much for the comment - Cheers :)

The Texture the pen makes actually enhances the appearance of the sheeps wooly exterior. I actually think this is the best production so far. Definitely a fail into a win!

Thanks man he is growing on me more and more everyday, I agree so far I have been fairly lucky with what I was going for the pen can't create the smoothness you get from a 3d printer but for the tree and the sheep at least it worked rater well.

Cheers :D

Awww
It is so beautiful
The real art @krystle

Cheers I'm pretty happy with it :)

You've got some nice hands there to pull it off. @krystle

Everyone knows that every unicorn always wanted to be a cute sheep.
Nice one :d

He is a very cute sheep, I like his little stumpy legs - they were never going to work for a unicorn :)

I really enjoyed reading your post :)
You have a good sense of humor.
I had never heard of 3D pen art, so thanks for this post.
You have awakened my curiosity, I will do some reading up on it :)
I think the universe guided you to make a sheep for your son, which he likes :)

Thanks so much :)

Yeah I only just got this pen (through my steemit earnings) it's a great little device, it's just so liberating to be able to imagine something and build it up out of nothing but an idea :)

I agree the fate was determined before I was aware, but he is the perfect little companion for my little man - Cheers :)

Next a goat! Upgoated

xD it looks so good! I want a 3d pen after seeing this

I got a request a whale! :D

maybe not a big one coz thats probably alot hehe

Lol I did a sheep the other week, he was a prize in my giveaway and is soon off to live with his new family - I give you steemy the steemwhale!

He ended up being quiet big actually, every mistake meant another layer - he was only my second ever project so still pretty happy with things.

that is so cool xD

I really gotta get me one of these

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80