Taurus- Zodiac Dragons+ The Process and Coloring Tips

in #art6 years ago

img056_compressed.jpg

Hello everyone and I hope your are all doing well! I've been working on this longer post for a while, which is why I've posted less small posts. I hope you guys enjoy it and find something useful to try out.

separator.jpg

Taurus is the second zodiac sign. Its main element is earth and the sun is its astrological sign. Taurus is usually known for being trustworthy, practical and headstrong.
If Taurus is your sign, how much does this description apply to you?

IMG_7981.JPG

Even though Taurus'es main sign is the sun, I drew a moon on it's head, because it's more recognizable. The moon also reminded me of my childhood anime: Sailor moon. In particular the magical cat, which inspired me to use purple colors on the dragon instead of brown as I had first planned. My favorite Sailor moon character was Mercury- blue, because of her color, gentle personality and cool gadget.

Artists often leave some of their personality, history and inspirations in their art. Sometimes it's accidental and done unawaringly, other times it's on purpose. Either way it's fascinating, almost like a puzzle and makes art in general more attracting.

IMG_8078s_compressed.jpg

For the drawing I started with a rough pencil sketch and it took me around two tries to draw a composition I liked. 3B pencil is probably the best for sketching softly and erasing.

img051_compressed.jpg

Next I used a 0.4 ink pen for outlines and details. A 0.1 ink pen is better for more realistic drawings with more details, while 0.8 is nice for a more simplistic or cartoonish look.

separator.jpg

Colors

This step is very different from what I usually do, which is shading. The atmosphere here is meant to be cute and lively, so I avoid using any blacks or greys. Instead with the help of the color wheel, luminosity and hue temperatures I portray lights and shadows.

Here is a simplified example of the shading method I'm currently using. This isn't a rule, rather an easy guide to get started with, based on the natural sky and sun lighting.

img055_compressed.jpg

For smooth blending I try to use colors adjacent on the color wheel. However, warmer hues are for the light areas and colder for the shadows. This is because in real life, the sun is a natural source of direct light while the blue sky is the source of ambient light (all around). Moreover, if you turn colors into greyscale, you will notice that yellow is the lightest of all, while blue and purple are the darkest. This is my quick example of a color wheel, you can find many other versions by simply searching "color wheel".

Untitled-1.png

Now for the coloring process: use many layers. What I mean is, draw softly and set the base color first for uniformity. Then keep adding color softly over and over, including other hues. Personally I love a pencil if it leaves pigment on my fingers simply by touching or rubbing it, as those pencils are the easiest to blend.

img053_compressed.jpg

I don't use any special blending methods, as it all depends on what you want to want to achieve with your drawing. Blending by layering is a bit time consuming, but it's very clean and straightforward. The minimum number of layers I use is around 10. This may seem much, but this way the direction of the lines isn't visible.

separator.jpg

The following are some thumbnails I did for the other zodiac signs, as I plan to do all. When I feel stuck, I always turn to thumbnails. They are quick and fun small sketches to generate new ideas and they are highly recommended by many artists. While doing these I felt that Gemini Zodiac is extremely tricky, because essentially I have to draw two dragons on the small A5 paper. From these I feel that Leo and Capricorn are the most defined and one of those will probably be the next Zodiac I draw.

img057_compressed.jpg

Which Zodiac are you?

My sign is Aries and it was the first one I drew. You can check out the Dragon and the whole process in this post: https://steemit.com/doodle/@kristyglas/daily-dragon-doodle-4-aries

img041_compressed_compressed.jpg

All of the art and photo in this post were made by me, @kristyglas.

My tips on improving your art posts and getting noticed: https://steemit.com/art/@kristyglas/improving-you-posts-and-getting-noticed-artists-edition

separator.jpg

If you enjoyed this post and would like to see more long posts, please resteem this post for support so it reaches more people!!!

Thank you for reading!♡

follow.png

Sort:  

Looks dope man! Havent seen these kinda sketches in long, following ya!

Thank you! Do you post drawings? Browsed your profile a bit ^^
It's a smart idea to add "art" to the username hehe :D Sadly I didn't think of that when joining.

I used to post paintings and sketches like a lot of them, unfortunately have been busy with my research lately so i have been posting just my writings lately. Thanks for visiting my profile :)

I don't like and don't believe in the zodiac signs (its based in the belief of flat earth and other pagan stuff)... But I like the technique and the results on your drawing, I think color pencils are difficult and working with a lot of layers must be very hard :o and you did it great!!
Also you gave a lot of detailed and tips! Thanks a lot for that :D

Thank you! Yeah technique can be applied to anything. :D I understand for zodiacs, I'm not religious so it's fun for me to experiment with various ideas ^^ But I haven't read zodiac predictions in years. I do enjoy mythology in general more and more.

I loved your process and explanation, the color palette you used is pretty sweet, I'd love to see a Sagittarius drawing if you make one ♡

Thank you :D I plan to make all, it's just a matter of time ^^

Resteemed and shared on the Taurus Channel of Steemsugars !!! :D

Thank you very much!! :D

I GOD DAMN LOVE YOUR DRAGONS AND I'M A TAURIAN

Your writing is admirable, putting in your own views into it. Artists will take a lot from this too, this is so much inspiration UGH

WHY ARE YOU SO GOOD

Thank you!! :D
If you feel this reflects your zodiac well, please consider resteeming ^-^

I love it! The added moon referencing your personal touch is also cool and looks very good. I'm gemini btw :)

Thank you :D And favorite color? I might try that one ;)

YAY!! I like blue :D

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 11 SBD worth and should receive 66 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kristyglas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nicely done, I added you to the @ARTzONE voting list.

Thank you! :)

I’m an Aquarius and Sailor Mercury was also my favorite scout from the anime!

Awesome! :D As an Aquarius what feature would you like to see on an aquarius dragon, if you cae ofcourse ^^
I feel like watching Sailormoon again xD and I don't remember later seasons :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99