Evolution of my Eye Style!

in #art5 years ago

Heya everyone! Sooooo, for quite sometime now, I have been trying to find my own art style > u <And now, I feel like I'm really close to it! I have a lot of artists that I look up to that I myself don't know which style I want!



Nowww, I think I'm a little closer to the eye style I really want! All thanks to a few Youtube videos that helped me understand how slightly realistic yet incredibly soft eyes are done~
You can check them out if you have the same taste as me with eyes here:

youtube.com/watch?v=N6B-JbZvxKI&t=371s
youtube.com/watch?v=AHa95ck1Ozo


Soooo, since I was so happy how my eyes have turned out, I decided to make a short art journey post!

Evolution of My Eye Style



Anime Eyes ♥


My love for animated films was the spark of my passion for drawing. I used to watch Baby Bratz and such and I'd draw Cloe with her curly blonde hair. Theeeen, I got introduced to the anime world~ I watched Detective Conan, Alice Academy, K-On! and all those old anime and found myself watching a Youtube tutorial on how to draw Mio from K-On! > u < Sooo when I had my first drawing tablet, my first drawings were of course in the only style I knew, anime!



Higher Resolution Anime Eyes > u <


I had better control of the pen pressure so I was able to make neater line art and nicer eyes :> Well, Anime has a special place in my heart so it's not surprising that anime style clung on me. But as I reached my teen years, I got addicted to Dota! I admired its art and the fan arts as well~ And just recently, I realized that I want to draw for games, rather than anime. Having completely different art styles, I had a hard time adjusting specially with the nose! Anime had cute dot as noses and huuuge eyes so when I tried realistic-ish art, it had huge eyes and no nose...



Attempts on Game-ish Art!> u <


When I realized I wanted a game-like style, I first tried to paint without line art...



More Practice with Game-ish Art~


After a lot of tips, tutorials, and practice, I managed to make my eyes look like these... Looking back, it's a huge step up from where I started! Buuut, I felt like it was still lacking so again, back to Youtube tutorials... And I'm really happy I did because I came across 2 videos that greatly helped me get the look I've always wanted \o/

eyeees.jpg

Huge Turn!


Looking at it, I still can't believe I made this > u < It's soooo different from the style I got used to! It's softer, brighter, and more intense! This was how I've always wanted my eyes to look like! Soft like Shal E's yet intense like Ross's! Yeah, I just learned how to do this an hour ago so please bear with my excitement > u < I have so much to learn but I'll get there, eventually, hopefully! I'm so excited to make more faces with eyes like these but my hand hurts already hehehe

I've only used hard brushes for my drawings which is probably why it looked a lot more stiff than this one... The tutorials I've watched used softer brushes for the base then used harder brushes to define the corners of the eyes, etc. I love soft brushes now. > u <

PS, I'm sorry for the resolution of the drawings... They had different resolutions so those that were drawn in small canvasses turned out pixelated when enlarged :< Also, I put them together using MS Paint > u <


That's about it! I am one happy artist ^u^

If you wish to have an amazing companion through your drawing journey, feel free to join us @steemartists! It's full of amazing artists, both new and old, who are willing to share their experiences. I learned a lot from them, I hope you will too n_n


We also have a discord channel and we'd be more than glad if you dropped by: https://discord.gg/C9PsHV6


Thank You!


I hope you guys enjoyed this one as well!
Feel free to comment any tips or suggestions. It will be greatly appreciated! If you liked the content, please leave an upvote. For more, please follow @kothy.


All images were made by @kothy
All rights reserved


Sort:  

Beautiful! now let's wait for that c2 upvote :D

Yehey! Thank you :>


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

You are evolving really well. Keep up with the good work, @kothy! 😃

Thank you, @trincowski! ♥

Congratulations @kothy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55