Finished Pennywise the clown from "IT" artwork!

in #art6 years ago

Good morning, Steemit! I just dropped @guthrie off at school. It’s a great feeling to be sitting down to a Steemit post this early in the morning. I love being able to make two blog posts in one day and mornings like this are the only way it happens. I have a ton of editing to get through and a possible lunch with a Steemit friend, so I most likely won’t have a chance to draw today. I did, however, want to share some drawing I fit in yesterday. You can see some of the process in my @dlive post “Art therapy at @caffetto drawing Pennywise! LIVE NOW!”.

@guthrie is obsessed with IT at the moment […the reboot from 2017, not the original]. I am and always have been a diehard horror enthusiast, but I wasn’t excited for the new interpretation of IT. It has been my son that’s drawn me in to see how brilliant this film is. He’s not allowed to watch the movie […for obvious reasons], but we do watch trailers and featurettes together before bed. We came across one that took a behind the scenes look at the actors, including commentary by Bill Skarsgård; Pennywise the clown.

I’ve come around on IT. It really is a special horror film. In my opinion, it does a much better job than the original […which may be another reason it took me a while to warm up to this new one; I wasn’t crazy about the 1990 film]. All the Pennywise excitement in our home and a longing to keep drawing as I’m trying to mentally prepare to transition to comics full time, I decided it was time to draw a demonic shapeshifting clown that eats children.

I started with rough pencils on a colored background. I used reference from Google images, which you can see on the @dlive live stream replay. One of the things I love most about the iPad Pro is the ability to do split screen while drawing in Procreate. It’s made a huge improvement in my drawings and streamlined my processes of using reference. I do struggle with expression quite a bit, but surprisingly, Pennywise’s evil face carried over on the first draft.

I played around with color, which isn’t one of my strongest skill sets. I come from a background of pen and ink and wash from my years in art school. Of the many mediums of visual art, comics have always been my favorite. I like pencils and inks. When colors come in to play, I prefer them to look like comic book pages with proper flatting and distinct edges. I romanticize that I can do digital painting like @beekart, @justmousepixels and @joxus, but when I try, I veer back to colors that are laid down behind deliberate comic book style inking.

Learning […and experimenting] with color is something I’ll keep doing. I want to have all the tools to do a comic from it’s earliest stages to a finished book […including writing], but I have to admit, of all these stages of this drawing, the faint pencils and finished inks is my favorite. It’s the @kommienezuspadt that’s still stuck in the 90’s, yearning to achieve what Todd McFarlane and Greg Capullo did with Spawn. Still, though, I’m happy with how this Pennywise turned out…especially considering I started it just for fun.

Thanks for reading. For more comics, illustration, photography and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Very cool!! @noboxes turned me on to your work and I’m impressed. Excited to see more!

Oh, cool! I wasn't familiar with @noboxes but just followed. Thanks for the follow!

Wow! It looks great!
And yeah it was a really great movie.

It was. I wish I'd seen it in theaters @readingdanvers.

As far as horror movies go, it was more entertaining and very well made than actually scary. I watch a lot of horror movies, but I always stream them because I don't want to scream in the theater that will akward.

I heard that it's too scary for cinema but people were wrong.

This clown looks scary. You are making amazing drawing.

Thanks @shuvomahfuz! I appreciate all your support.

Ah, this is rad! I love the style. The inking is seriously so great.

I've often had the same thing happen - sit down to draw something just for fun, or think it's going to be a quick doodle, and things just flow. I call it 'true inspiration'.

Yeah, that's true. I started this drawing on a @dlive video @offbeatbroad, which always makes me nervous because there have been time I started something that was such shit while 15 people were watching me. This one, however, I'm pretty happy with.

I'm so jealous! I have been drooling over iPad Pros since they release the Apple pencil. But, alas, I just refinanced a bunch of credit card debt, so I must wait until that is paid down a bit before I go spending more.

Beautiful artwork! Look forward to seeing more.

Oh, @hglucky13. I'm probably an enabler but I'm telling you, you should just say fuck it all and buy one ASAP. It's been the biggest revolution in regards to my art in my life. Same with @vermillionfox. She does everything on her iPad Pro, including Steemit posts.

Ha! Yeah, I’ve seen a couple friends’ work really evolve after getting one and the “fuck it” thought has crossed my mind more than a few times. But, we’ve also got our first little one going into daycare next week, so I definitely need to let our monthly budgets adjust to that before committing to any large purchases :P

Fucking awesome!! You really nailed the tones and texture. Great work!
SUFjK9o.gif

Love the line work and end result.

Thank you @artwatch! You're still one of my favorite artists here on Steemit so your compliments mean a lot.

✍️☺️👌

I seen the start of this coming together yesterday and had a feeling it was going to be epic....yep most definitely epic 😄

As always, thank you for your kind words @davekavanagh. I hope you still follow me when I fully transition to comics full time. I need a very extended break from photography and everything "should" be comic art posts from July on.

Too scary, @kommienezuspadt. Had to look with my eyes closed ;)

HAHA! Yeah, @lighteye. It was. I love horror and I'm a tough guy, lol. I wasn't really scared, but I can full appreciate the mood, effort and performance of the cast. Bill Skarsgård really brought the Pennywise character a whole new life. The new Pennywise from this film will be cemented in horror cinema forever. He's so iconic now.

When I was young, this was the scariest Serbian horror on the TV screens, @kommienezuspadt:

A few years later, I've found out much worse horror — politics!

I have not seen that movie yet because it scares me lol. Cool drawing dude!

Yeah, it is terrifying @miggyfr. @vermillionfox was squirming all over the place and hiding when we watched it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77