How to make heart from twigs

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Near my house, grows a birch variety which has very long twigs. These twigs are perfect for making all sorts of crafts because they are very flexible when fresh, so they can be bend and twisted with ease and they also harden over time which makes the ready product stay in shape for a long time.

Since it is autumn and there are no leaves on the trees anymore, I picked up some of these twigs from the tree and brought them home to make decorations. Today I want to show you how I made this heart shape wreath.

Cheers!!

Suzanah

So here is how I made it. First the twigs. 

I took as many twigs as I can grip with one hand. I made sure that the thicker ends are on one side and I tied that side with twine. 

Then I separated the twigs more or less equally in two parts.

Then I joined the free ends and tied them with a twine.

Afterwards I cut the thick side of the twigs so they look good in the middle. What's left is either to hang it up as it is or decorate it. In the beginning, I used this green twine which doesn't look too good but holds the structure in place, so I wrapped another more natural looking twine around the thicker ends of twigs. I also stuck some rowan berries near the twine. 

Sort:  

Thanks!! Making this heart is really easy as long as you have the right materials :)

Wow! Love it! Thanks for another easy to follow tutorial.

You are welcome!! I am glad you like it!!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.44 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here.

Thank you so much!!

You're welcome -- and thank you for sharing how you enjoy using the plants that are around you!

No problem!! It is actually a first time I heard that there is a foraging-trail around. Now that I know, I will make sure to support the authors and the whole initiative and also share some ideas and knowledge I have. Thank you for making me aware about the project!!

Welcome to the Steemit Foraging Community! Thanks for supporting the other foraging authors and sharing what you know. Here's to nature's bounty all around us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64863.39
ETH 3196.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53