How to make a wreath from twigs

in #art8 years ago (edited)

December has just started and it is finally time to start making Xmas decorations. Today, I want to show you how to make a wreath out of birch twigs.  

I hope you will enjoy my little tutorial!! 

Suzanah   

Steps: 

1. Find a birch that has very long twigs and pick a whole bunch of them. I was making 3 wreaths and a heart shaped wall decoration (see post about it here) so you probably won’t need as many twigs as I have on the image below.   

2. Pick up one of the longest twigs and bend them to make a circle. (It might help to use twine or thin wire to keep the ring together but it is not necessary)  Tip 1: Birch twigs are very flexible when freshly collected, after a time they become quite stiff so it is good to use them fast. 

3. Now take another twig and stick the thickest end in between the twigs and start to weave it around the ring. When you reach the end stick it in between the branches. Continue doing that till you have a right thickness and size. Tip 3: When you are about to reach desired thickness, start weaving the branches loosely. This will give an impression of a greater volume. 

4. Now all is left, is to decorate it. I am planning on posting couple of Xmas wreath decorating ideas within next week. 

Sort:  

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here.

Thanks!!! Plants rock!!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 01 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

You're finished wreath looks great! It looks like you wrapped more twigs around it, to finish it off. And I think I can follow your tutorial - you make it look pretty easy!

It's good to get to know the birch trees, isn't it? Their twigs are so flexible for your wreaths, their bark is so reliable for starting fires and it's good for crafts, too. Their late winter/early spring sap is good for making tea or syrup. Their young, tender leaves are good to put into salads in the early spring. The twigs of the sweet birch (Betula lenta) are great for making tea, too - they are like wintergreen! And there are some great wild mushrooms that grow on or around birch, too. Here's to the birch trees - they offer us a lot! Happy holidays!

Thank you!! And yes I added some more twigs, I wanted to get a bit more volume than what I thought would be enough initially.
And thanks for sharing about all the other things you can do with birch. I have never eaten the leaves as a salad. I will do that this spring. And I am not sure if you have the same mushrooms in Oregon but the one which grow here are called birch bolete (Leccinum scabrum) and they are so delicious. I have some dried ones in my kitchen from this years mushroom picking and I always add them to all sort of stews and to soups.

We have the same birch boletes in Oregon, but I don't have any in my own yard -- yet. I planted some birch trees, so maybe someday I will have them right at home. Here's a post where I am using birch leaves in a salad - here. The season is short before they have too much tannin in them, but while they are young and tender, they are good! If you eat them this spring, you can write a taste review! :D

Oh this is great!! Thanks for the link to your post!! I will definitely make the taste review :D.
And I also hope you can have some birch boletes in your yard soon. We sometimes pick old and eaten by warms mushrooms from the forest, than we bury them under the trees. So that the mycelium will spread. I don't know if it is actually working but we keep on doing that and each season we are able to pick up more and more mushrooms.

I have planted some good mushroom trees in my yard - hoping that the mushrooms will follow. And it seems to be working - with the Slippery Jacks and and a couple others. But I'm still waiting for mushrooms under my birch trees and larches, lol. I should get some old mushrooms from the forest and bring them home! :D

Very cool post, knitty! Now that my farm is goat free there might be enough birch branches around here to make a wreath. I'm definitely going to give it a try!:D

Awesome, I guess these goats must have really eat everything around them on your farm then, lol :) And thanks!!

nice tutorial! thanks for sharing (ps - love your username ;)

Thanks so much :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70