Seascape with oil paints. "Swallow's Nest". Detailed creative process

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemit!)

I adore drawing the sea.
Usually I paint a raging sea with raging waves, hissing with whitish foam and scattering sprays, but this time I wanted to paint a calm sea surface illuminated by the iridescent summer sun.
I thought about the plot, because I did not want to draw ships again, and the "bare" sea would look lonely in the picture. Therefore, in the center of the plot it was decided to inscribe the architecture. This is also good because it allows breathing life into the picture, because, where architecture exists, there are people.
Among the famous seascapes, I suddenly remembered the «Swallow's Nest». This amazing monument of architecture is located on the steep 40-meter Aurorina cliff of the cape Ai-Todor in the village of Gaspra on the southern coast of the Crimea. Against the background of the turquoise blue of the sea and in the rays of the hot sun «Swallow's Nest» looks like a beautiful architectural gem.

For work I used oil paints "Ladoga", brushes from bristles number 5 and number 2, brushes synthetic number 0, number 1 and number 2, canvas primed on cardboard.




First of all I drew the contours of the future drawing with a pencil.


With blue color I painted over the sky. Then I stretched out the color - a dark blue paint was added to the top of the sky, a mixture of blue paint and white was placed in the bottom. Transitions of shades were shaded by a synthetic brush.



With purple paint I painted the contours of the mountains in the background. I mixed the blue paint with the green and painted the sea. The nearest waves will be lighter in relation to the distant plan, I drew them more yellowish to convey the depth. With brown paint and ocher drew the rock stones.




With light ocher I painted over the walls of the castle, without giving any attention to the chandeliers and details.



With white, light yellow and pink colors painted clouds in the sky, in the shade I put a dark purple hue. With light-yellow strokes drew the crests of weak sea waves.



I painted the details on the castle with a fine brush. With translucent strokes I drew shadows on the walls.


With white and light yellow paints drew the foam on the crests of the waves and near the rocks.




At the final stage I strengthened the detailing of the picture, made the shadows darker and intensified the light flare. On the walls of the castle and the stones, most illuminated by the sun, I put light yellow and white accents. On the waves I emphasized the sunlight and the reflection of clouds. I added to the picture the contours of people - tourists and in the sky I drew white gulls. The drawing is ready.




Gif of the process.



Thank you for your attention! If you like my post – please, subscribe).

I apologize if you find mistakes in my text. Unfortunately, my English is not perfect.

Sort:  

A very fantastic artwork and great epic scene. Amazingly done!

Thank you!)

I like that ocean green a lot. And you did well also on the castle. The end result looks fantastic :D.

-upvoted-

thank you!)

Hello @kleonella, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Amazing work!

thank you!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82