ART EXPLOSION WEEK 46: Theme MASKS - Corey Taylot - SLIPKNOT

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!!

Several days ago i do not post anything, it is that i decided to take a few days off to relax a little and think about other things, but i was already beginning to miss the drawing.

I see that i´am still on time to present my entry to the contest hosted by @juliakponsford

ART EXPLOSION WEEK

this week's theme is MASKS

IMG_20180830_205643_999.jpg


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

brown-watercolor-splatter-1.png

My drawing for this contest is Corey Taylor, lead singer of the band Slipknot and Stone Sour.

I drew Corey under the outfit he wears in the Slipknot band. Many lovers of Metal know that this band is characterized by the masks used by its members.

This singer was an excellent choice for me, since the masks have many meanings, some use it to hide their identity, many super heroes hide their faces to protect their loved ones, but, the members of this band use them to demonstrate what that there really is inside.


As Corey explains in the following quote:

We are not hiding behind these masks, we are revealing more than you can imagine. The mask i use to put all the bad things inside me. Even if we do not wear the masks, the music would still be of good quality

516b9662c02a07bad119dfe4d8e944bd.png

Now let's see the ateep by steep of my illustration:

The technique i used is what i doing best, realism with charcoal. for this I used the following tools:

  • Mechanical Pencil.

  • HB Leads.

  • Charcoal Pencil Medium.

  • Brush.

  • Moldable Eraser.

  • A4 Opaline 300G.


  • I started doing the main sketch, then with the charcoal pencil i highlighted the darkest areas of the mask.


  • In this step i illustrated the mask, using only the charcoal pencil and shading with the brush.


  • In these steps i was illustrating with the charcoal pencil following the sketch.

IMG_20180830_115213_107.jpg


IMG_20180830_124915_304.jpg


IMG_20180830_194949_127.jpg


  • For the details i used the moldable eraser to give light and volume to the illustration, i also used the brush to soften the charcoal.

IMG_20180830_195017_820.jpg


  • The brush helped me cover the dark areas and make the shadows, i made adjustments and detailed the jacket with the moldable eraser.

IMG_20180830_201753_168.jpg


  • And this is the Final Art:

IMG_20180830_205643_999.jpg

cores.png

I missed a lot drawing with charcoal, for a while my hands were shaking and i made some bad strokes, but that's what happens when you lose the practice, so, i hope to continue drawing more often.

This illustration was very funny, I like to work with darkness and make details inside of it. I hope you like it and you have enjoyed this illustration!

Thanks for being here!

Until the next time!!

Steemit.png


**Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://kennyvaldez.vornix.blog/2018/08/31/art-explosion-week-46-theme-masks-corey-taylot-slipknot/ **

Sort:  

@kennyvaldez I really like your artwork and your clear outline every time. Do keep up the good work.

I have featured you in a curation contest hosted by @pifc. See the link below:
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@honeysim/my-entry-to-week-22-curation-contest-win-sbi-shares-steem-monsters-cards-and-steem-bounty-pifc

Hey! Glad that you like my artwork! And thanks for featured me ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing Corey Taylor, @kennyvaldez ! Well drawn and the reproduction captures the slipknot singer so perfectly ! Great skills with the pencils and charcoal <3 and your skills with the highlights and eraser is always amazing to me * ___ *

good luck in artexplosion <3

spidey! you are always so precise! thank you very much!! It makes me happy to know that you like my work!

Posted using Partiko Android

What a cool draw @kennyvaldez 😉 love the detail at the dark side

Thank you very much!

Posted using Partiko Android

What a cool draw @kennyvaldez 😉 love the detail at the dark side

Glad that you like this!

Posted using Partiko Android

Another fantastic piece @kennyvaldez!! You've really outdone yourself on this one :) Love it!!

@lynncoyle1 you always support me! Thank you so much. Glad you like my artwork ;)

You and your work are a pleasure to support @kennyvaldez :)

Hi @kennyvaldez, as you know @honeysim featured you in this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward contests.

Very well done. I knew it was Corey Taylor before I even saw your description. You did a great job of even catchin mannerisms when he performs. It's funny, his mannerisms change with each group or solo. I guess he's a chameleon of sorts. Keep up the great work.

Hello! Yes, I was watching this, I feel happy and honored to be featured in this contest.

Yes, Corey is a chameleon, he was the perfect subject to represent this contest of masks. Its facets in each band, the masks in slipknot, I just feel that it was the perfect illustration to represent this, thank you for your support!

It really was perfect! You're very welcome. I'll have to come by and visit more often. You definitely have skills 😎

Ohhhh!!! Lena!!!! Thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you're back. All these things happening in life are really stressful... But I guess you could Spit It Out.... And oh Before I Forget, you can also just Wait and Bleed til you remove all those Dead Memories on your head. :P

haahaha! master, what are you poetic! You have reminded me of my youth, when i listened to their songs! Happy to see your comment here! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you lady! ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

WOW! Amazing artistic quality @kennyvaldez, I am deeply impressed with your shading technique and the overall artistic power. A tiny little bit scary maybe ... :)

Yeah! A little bit scary, but is not a mask so scary? Hahaha that hidden demons and monsters inside. Thanks a lot! ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85