Where Did INKTOBER Come From?

in #art8 years ago


As an artist, I'm ashamed to say, I've never heard of it until now. But digging deeper I started to learn about this whole weird trend of inktober. Everyone was posting about it, And I felt the need to be involved.

Six years ago, artist Jake Parker decided to challenge himself by completing a new ink drawing every day in October. To encourage himself to stick with it, He started posting the pictures online each day.

Inktober rules:

  1. Make a drawing in ink (you can do a pencil under-drawing.
  2. Post it online
  3. Hashtag it with #inktober and #inktober 2016.
  4. Repeat.

    Over seven years later, There are over 1 million photos that have been posted on Instagram alone using the hashtag. People surprisingly kept the rules the same, As the man had set them. It's strange how someone can set a common trend like that overnight!
    #InkTober was born.

Have you ever participated in Inktober? Would you?It's a bit late now that it's almost the 17th! I feel like I missed out on a fun opportunity. But then again, Many of us should draw everyday, and not feel like we should just draw in October. It seems to motivate a lot of people, though. Hopefully throughout the month you can build a habit that spans well after the fall season.

Photo credits: First photo, is me drawing my " pen drawing"
The last two are pixabay

Sort:  

What a coincidence cause I got my first tattoo last year in October on my mom's birthday lol! #inktober

That is so awesome hehee.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48