Beautiful Art Shows in NYC this fall!

in #art8 years ago

If you want to have beauty inside of you, start with appreciating art.

Today I want to share with you my highlights from the bright last week's exhibition openings in NYC.


Leonardo Drew at Sikkema Jenkins & Co

As I have mentioned in my previous posts, September is indeed a golden season in the art scene!

All prominent galleries are bringing top world contemporary artists with their best works for the collectors and art lovers appreciation... And, hopefully, for their purchases :)


Jan Christensen

In my previous post I have shared my experience from the opening of the exhibition, focused on blockchain and Bitcoin - I couldn't wait sharing my excitement of seeing my two great passions blended together in the gallery space!

Today I will give you some more highlights from my favorite exhibitions this fall... So let's get started!


Leonardo Drew at Sikkema Jenkins & Co

I totally loved the large scale dark wooden sculptures of Leonardo Drew! Massive and at the same time thoroughly worked through in every detail, these sculptures and installations are worth seeing and spending time discovering every little detail of it...


Rashid Johnson at Hauser and Wirth

This great exhibition includes major works of Rashid Johnson, made in his favorite material - soap! And a fantastic installation with live plants, embracing us with the sounds of classical music, played live by the pianist hidden in the middle of green leaves... Incredible sound and a very immersive experience!


Peter Cain at Matthew Marks

An interesting view of the artist Peter Cain on the cars and wheels - his obvious passion, as this exhibition tells us. I liked the very photographic and yet surrealistic paintings of cars and the constant movement associated with it.


Allison Schulnik at Ziehersmith

An interesting technique of putting multiple thick layers of oil with wide brushstrokes (called impasto) creates a kind of 3-D effect on these paintings of Allison Schulnik. You can see it when looking at the painting from different angles. And the longer you look at them, the more hidden messages you see through the blurred lines.

There are more interesting exhibitions on view and even more to come later this fall!

I will not overload this post with all of them, so more updates to come!

Love Art, be Inspired and stay Tuned!

Sort:  

To get a pleasure from works there - ONE must have a very good imagination. Thank you for your report Steemit Correspondent! ;-) Steem on!

It's true, contemporary art takes time to be appreciated! My mom still thinks it's a pile of garbage on the floor :)

Love, love the plant exhibit included in the piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41