Art Season in NYC Opens with an Extraordinary Exhibition about Blockchain!

in #art8 years ago (edited)

September in New York is my favorite time - it's the start of the season when all the galleries are back from the summer holidays and group exhibitions and are bringing fresh, eye-catching and exciting works to the city's art scene!

This week has been intense with quite a list of new openings and art events, and I will make a separate post about my favorite picks from what I have seen so far... But today I want to share with you an exhibition that caught my eye right away!

Simon Denny, a contemporary artists from New Zealand, is showing his new exhibition Blockhain Future States in the Chelsea gallery Petzel.

The artist has been interested in decentralized systems, and particularly in blockchain, for several years and has been investigating the leading companies in this technology and their core principles.

This exhibition is focused on the three of them - Ethereum, 21 Inc and Digital Asset.

He focuses on visualizing what the decentralized, open world would look like from the perspective of implementation of blockchain as a technology and Bitcoin as a currency in our daily lives.

"The exhibition maps the myths, dreams, winners and losers of the global game of governance design. Artworks borrow their forms from the hardware of competitive gaming – with oversized special editions of the board game “Risk”, personal computer cases turned corporate “deal toys” and cartoonish entrepreneurial “players” in a land-grab for the decentralized, encrypted infrastructure of possible self-governing future worlds." - Petzel Gallery.

What I loved about the exhibition is that it tries to catch and visually interpret what everybody knows to be insensible and metaphoric - a technology.

It's a fantastic combination to have an artist with his talent and creativity try to bring the beauty and technological potential of blockchain to the general public view and appreciation!

My favorite pick is a plastic statue of Vitalik Buterin :)

If you are in New York anytime by October 22, I do advice to stop by the exhibition and dive into the imaginative (or not?) future world of blockchain through the artist's eyes.

Sort:  

Great post... very nice! I upvoted this post for 100% and shared it .
It's an absolute follow!

Thank you!! Will follow you too )

I don't normally go to galleries , but I would enjoy this one. ^_^

That's the thing - it's so cool to see this in a gallery context!:)

Very positive article. I hope I will have a chance to dive into it.

A very interesting post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32